Your browser is outdated! Upgrade to a modern browser to experience this website properly.

Faculty

Tags (separate tags with commas) Photo Name Contact
protein, membrane Jack Kaplan, Ph.D., F.R.S
Department Head

Structure-function studies, mechanism, biosynthesis, assembly and cellular trafficking of P-type ATPases or Ion pumps. Mechanism and Regulation of Copper transport systems in Human Cells.

Office: 312-355-2732
Lab: 312-996-0487
Email: kaplanj@uic.edu

protein, regulation Steven J. Ackerman, PhD
Professor

Transcriptional mechanisms regulating hematopoietic (myeloid) development and gene expression. Eosinophil effector functions in asthma and other allergic diseases, tissue remodeling and fibrosis. Biochemistry, cell and structural biology of eosinophil protein mediators of inflammation.

Office: 312-996-6149
Lab: 312-996-5433
Email: sackerma@uic.edu

cancer Elizaveta Benevolenskaya, PhD
Associate Professor

Mechanisms of promotion of differentiation by retinoblastoma protein (pRB), role of histone demethylases RBP2 and PLU1 in cell fate determination and differentiation in mammalian cells. Global analysis of the transcriptional network regulated by RBP2-related proteins.

Office: 312-413-8947
Lab: 312-413-8962
Email: evb@uic.edu
Site: View Lab Website

protein, membrane Michael Caffrey, PhD
Associate Professor

Biochemical and NMR studies directed at elucidating the structure and mechanisms of viral proteins.

Office: 312-996-4959
Lab: 312-355-2635
Email: caffrey@uic.edu

protein, membrane, cancer Karen J. Colley, PhD
Professor

The control and organization of protein glycosylation and the role of glycans in protein function. The protein-specific polysialylation of adhesion proteins and signaling molecules.

Office: 312-996-7756
Lab: 312-996-8108
Email: karenc@uic.edu

signal, regulation, cancer Bernard Friedenson, PhD
Associate Professor

Molecular genetics of the regulation of the immune system.

Email: bernief@uic.edu

signal, regulation Maxim Frolov, PhD
Associate Professor

Mechanisms of regulation of eukaryotic gene expression and the role of chromatin. The function of E2F repressor complexes in Drosophila development.

Office: 312-413-5797
Lab: 312-355-0476
Email: mfrolov@uic.edu

protein, signal, cancer Vadim Gaponenko, PhD
Associate Professor

Biophysical and biochemical characterization of macromolecular interactions with the emphasis on cancer related proteins.

Office: 312-355-4965
Lab: 312-355-4839
Email: vadimg@uic.edu

protein Peter G.W. Gettins, D.Phil.
Professor

Structure and function of plasma proteinase inhibitors. Use of NMR and other spectroscopic methods to determine structure in solution.

Office: 312-996-5534
Lab: 312-413-8498
Email: pgettins@uic.edu

signal, regulation, cancer Nissim Hay, PhD
Distinguished Professor

Mechanisms of cell survival, cell cycle control, metabolism, and genesis of cancer. The PI3K/PTEN/AKT/mTOR signaling. The function of Akt isoforms at the cellular and organismal levels.  

Office: 312-355-1684
Lab: 312-355-2024
Email: nhay@uic.edu

signal, regulation, cancer Alisa L. Katzen, PhD
Associate Professor

Genetic analysis of cell cycle regulation during development The role of a proto-oncogene.

Office: 312-413-9215
Lab: 312-413-9218
Email: katzen@uic.edu

signal, regulation, cancer Lester F. Lau, PhD
Professor

Extracellular Matrix Signaling in Inflammation, Cancer, and Cardiovascular Development.

Office: 312-996-6978
Lab: 312-996-6996,
312-996-1234
Email: lflau@uic.edu

protein, cancer Arnon Lavie, PhD
Professor

Structure-based design of novel therapeutic agents by prodrug development andenzyme modifications. X-ray crystallographic structure determination of enzymes involved in prodrug activation.

Office: 312-355-5029
Lab: 312-996-6299
Email: lavie@uic.edu
Site: View Lab Website

protein Xiubei Liao, PhD
Associate Professor

Biochemical and NMR studies of protein structure and function, protein-nucleic acid and protein-protein interactions.

Office: 312-996-7672
Lab: 312-413-1123
Email: xiubei@uic.edu

signal, regulation Brad Merrill, PhD
Associate Professor

Mammalian stem cell and developmental biology, WNT signaling, Genome Editing.

Office: 312-996-0346
Lab: 312-996-0348
Email: merrillb@uic.edu

protein, signal, cancer Toru M. Nakamura, PhD
Associate Professor

Roles of Checkpoint Proteins and Chromatin Modifications in Genome Stability, DNA repair and Telomere Maintenance.

Office: 312-996-1988
Lab: 312-413-5084
Email: nakamut@uic.edu
Site: View Lab Website

signal, cancer Pradip Raychaudhuri, PhD
Professor

Regulation of mammalian cell cycle.

Office: 312-413-0255
Lab: 312-413-0252
Email: pradip@uic.edu

membrane, signal Nava Segev, PhD
Professor

Regulation of Intracellular Trafficking by Molecular Switches and Cascades: The Role of Ypt/Rab GTPases

Office: 312-355-0142
Lab: 312-413-2471
Email: nava@uic.edu

membrane Sojin Shikano, PhD
Associate Professor

Protein interactions directing the selective sorting of membrane proteins.

Office: 312-413-2029
Lab: 312-996-2091
Email: sshikano@uic.edu

protein Miljan Simonovic, PhD
Assistant Professor

Structural and functional studies of macromolecular complexes by applying the methods of X-ray crystallography.

Office: 312-996-0059
Lab: 312-996-0077
Email: msimon5@uic.edu
Site: View Lab Website

signal, regulation, cancer Angela L. Tyner, PhD
Professor

Regulation of epithelial cell differentiation Cell cycle regulation in regenerating tissues.

Office: 312-996-7964
Lab: 312-996-8181
Email: atyner@uic.edu

emeritus M. Sue Hanlon, PhD
Professor Emeriti

Forces and interactions that maintain biologically important conformations in nucleic acids and proteins.

Email: mshanlon@uic.edu

emeritus Thomas O. Henderson, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Biomedical application of 31P NMR; biochemistry of tropical diseases; schistosomiasis.

Email: revtotis@uic.edu

emeritus Yee-Kin Ho, PhD
Associate Professor

Molecular mechanisms of phototransduction; energy coupling mechanisms.

Email: ykho@uic.edu

emeritus Henry Jeffay, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Human nutrition; obesity.

 

emeritus Elliot R. Kaufman, PhD
Professor Emeritus

 

Office: 312-996-6975
Email: erk@uic.edu
Site: View Lab Website

emeritus Margalit Mokyr, PhD
Professor Emeriti

Regulation of the immune response to tumors, immunomodulation by anticancer drugs and gene therapy.

Email: mokyr@uic.edu
emeritus Janos Molnar, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Membrane structure and endocytosis; role of plasma fibronectin in host defense.

 

emeritus Robert V. Storti , PhD
Professor Emeritus

Molecular developmental mechanisms involved in early embryonic development leading to tissue-specific differentiation.

Email: rvstorti@uic.edu

emeritus Kiranur N. Subramanian , PhD
Professor Emeritus

Tumor suppressor proteins (WT1, p53) Mechanisms of regulation of replication and gene expression Induction of apoptosis.

Email: kiranurs@uic.edu

emeritus Mariano Tao, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Protein phosphorylation and control mechanisms; membrane protein phosphorylatio.

emeritus Edward B. Titchener, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Computer modeling of metabolism.

emeritus James C. Vary, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Biochemistry of development; mechanism of bacterial spore germination.

Email: jvary@uic.edu

Explore
Loading