VCAS Logo
0

UNIVERSITY HOLIDAYS
ACADEMIC YEAR 2010



GROUP A* -- Applies to all staff members except those listed under Group B:


HOLIDAY

DATE OBSERVED

Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2009
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2009
Designated Holiday #1  Friday, November 27, 2009
Gift Day, One-Half Day (a.m.) Thursday, December 24, 2009
Excused Day, One-Half Day (p.m.) Thursday, December 24, 2009
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2009
Designated Holiday #2  Thursday, December 31, 2009
New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2010
Martin Luther King Day  Monday, January 18, 2010
Memorial Day Monday, May 31, 2010
Independence Day (observed) Monday, July 5, 2010
Plus
 
Two Floating Holidays
 

*Group A is encouraged to use vacation time or floating holidays on the designated reduced services days: Monday December 28, 2009;Tuesday, December 29, 2009, and Wednesday, December 30, 2009.

GROUP B-- For employees working in the hospital, clinics, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services, all departments under the Department of Facilities Management and Capital Programs, Environmental Health and Safety,Telecommunications Services, Facility and Space Planning, UIC Police Department, Campus Auxiliary Services, and Biologic Resources Laboratory:

HOLIDAY

DATE OBSERVED

Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2009
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2009
Gift Day, One-Half Day (a.m.) Thursday, December 24, 2009**
Excused Day, One-Half Day (p.m.) Thursday, December 24, 2009**
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2009
New Year's Day Friday, January 1, 2010
Martin Luther King Day  Monday, January 18, 2010
Memorial Day Monday, May 31, 2010
Independence Day (observed) Monday, July 5, 2010
Plus
 
Four Floating Holidays  

**Hospital employees required to work on December 24th are asked to schedule another day off between December 1, 2009 and January 31, 2010. Other employees required to work on the gift day must follow the Floating Holiday Rules and Procedures for scheduling their gift day.
When available, UIC Medical Center employees may find additional information regarding the holiday schedule for Christmas 2009/New Years 2010 at the UIC Human Resources website.

Please contact  Cassandra Staudacher if you have any questions.


Back to U I C home button

Copyright © 2009 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois Contact the webmaster

Last update: July 8, 2009

 

   Back to U I C home button

   Contact us

 

UIC Home page