UIC Department of Biological Sciences
UIC Department Of Biological Sciences Home UIC Homepage UIC College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Home


Search UIC Biology:

Department Members



General Information
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Illinois at Chicago
845 West Taylor Street (MC 066)
Chicago, IL 60607
312-996-2211
Fax: 312-413-2435

To look up contact information for anyone at UIC, try The UIC Online Phonebook. Otherwise, please reference the list below.


Faculty

Research Personnel

Support Staff

Graduate Students

Emeritus/Affilitates/Adjuncts



 

                                       Faculty

Name

Position

Phone
(312)

Email

Office

Ale, Som Vst Res Asst Professor 996-4578 sale1@uic.edu SES 3358
Alfonso, Aixa Associate Professor /
Neuro Group Coordinator
355-0318 aalfonso@uic.edu SEL 3061
Alford, Simon Professor 355-0328 sta@uic.edu SEL 4285
Ashley, Mary V. Professor 996-9462 ashley@uic.edu SEL 1031
BassiriRad, Hormoz Professor 996-8674 hormoz@uic.edu SEL 4103
Brown, Joel Professor /
E and E Group Coordinator
996-4289 squirrel@uic.edu SES 3352
Dubreuil, Ronald Assoc Professor 413-7831 ron@uic.edu MBRB 4152
Featherstone, Dave Associate Professor 413-2516 def@uic.edu SEL 4311
Gibbons, Sandra Lecturer 996-0961 gibbonss@uic.edu SES 3466
Gong, Liang-Wei Asst Professor 413-0089 lwgong@uic.edu SEL 4296
Gonzalez-Meler, Miquel Associate Professor 355-3928 mmeler@uic.edu SES 3338
Howe, Henry Professor 996-0666 hfhowe@uic.edu SES 3460
Igic, Boris Associate Professor 996-6072 boris@uic.edu SEL 4085
Jeffery, Constance Associate Professor 996-3168 cjeffery@uic.edu MBRB 4252
Jin, Hua Assistant Professor 413-8137 huajin@uic.edu MBRB 4120
Kaufman, Lon Vice Chancellor / Professor 413-3450 lkaufman@uic.edu UH 2832
Kay, Brian K. Department Head/ Professor 996-4249 bkay@uic.edu SES 3240 & MBRB 4320
Koduvayur , Sujatha Vst Res Asst Professor 355-0189 skoduvay@uic.edu MBRB 4318
Leonard, John P. Professor 996-4261 leonard@uic.edu SEL 3055A
Lynch, Jeremy Assistant Professor 996-5460 jlynch42@uic.edu MBRB 4020
Malchow, Robert Paul Associate Professor 413-1552 paulmalc@uic.edu SEL 4083
Mason-Gamer, Roberta Associate Professor 996-4537 robie@uic.edu SEL 1008
McCutcheon, Suzanne Clinical Asst Professor 996-5047 suzanne@uic.edu SEL 3050
Minor, Emily Asst Professor 355-0823 eminor@uic.edu SES 3346
Molumby, Alan Clinical Asst Prof 996-2994 molumby@uic.edu SEL 3092
Morrison, Donald Professor 996-6839 damorris@uic.edu MBRB 4102
Muller, Michael Lecturer/ Coordinator 996-3476 mmuller@uic.edu SEL 3092
Murphy, Don A. Associate Professor 996-8087 dmurphy@uic.edu SEL 4275
Nelson, Karin Clinical Asst Prof 413-8904 knelsonn@uic.edu SES 3378
O'Dell, Andrew S. Visiting Lecturer 996-2946 aodell1@uic.edu SEL 3050
Okkema, Peter Professor 413-7445 okkema@uic.edu MBRB 4052
Orenic, Teresa Associate Professor 355-1452 torenic@uic.edu MBRB 4220
Park, Thomas Professor /
Associate Head
413-3020
355-1387
tpark@uic.edu SEL 4278A
SES 3242
Poretsky, Rachel Assistant Professor 996-2217 microbe@uic.edu SEL 4100a
Richmond, Janet Professor /
LIN Director
413-2513 jer@uic.edu SEL 4309
Schmidt, Jennifer Associate Professor /
MCDB Group Coordinator
996-5655 jvs@uic.edu MBRB 4202
Shiv, Shalu Lecturer 355-2875 sshiv1@uic.edu SEL 4085
Stone, David Professor 996-5710 dstone@uic.edu MBRB 4002
Wang, Q. Tian Assistant Professor 413-2408 qtwang@uic.edu MBRB 4170
Warpeha, Kate Assistant Professor 996-7646 kwarpeha@uic.edu MBRB 4268
Whelan, Christopher Vst. Lecturer 355-0990 whelanc@uic.edu SES 3350
Wise, David Professor 413-9191 dhwise@uic.edu SES 3476

                              Research Personnel

Back to the top

Name

Position

Phone
(312)

Email

Office

Draper, Edward Postdoc Research Assoc 996-0896 Edrape1@uic.edu MBRB 4010
Flower, Charles Postdoc Research Associate 996-5929 cflowe3@uic.edu SES 3342
Gao, Xuan Vst Res Spec 413-0089 xxgao@uic.edu SEL 4296
Goldberg, Emma Postdoctoral Researcher 413-8269 eeg@uic.edu SEL 4093
Huang, Renhua Postdoc Research Associate 996-0392 renhua@uic.edu MBRB 4318
Koduvayur Parthasarathy, Sujatha Visiting Research Assistant Professor 355-0189 skoduvay@uic.edu MBRB 4318
Li, Wenping Visiting Research Specialist 413-8174 Jklwp007@uic.edu MBRB 4118
Nacke, Lynne Vst Res Spec 413-5684 Lwalds1@uic.edu SEL 3067
Page, Brian Post Doc Res Assoc 413-3056 bpage1@uic.edu SEL 4267
Ray, Anirban Vst Res Spec 355-5100 anirban@uic.edu SEL 4100
Rucks, Jessica Vst Res Spec 996-0772 jrucks2@uic.edu SES 3264
Zwicke, Grant Vst Res Spec 996-5601 gzwick2@uic.edu MRBR 4260

                                   Support Staff

Back to the top

Name

Position

Phone
(312)

Email

Office

Alvarado, Omar LMB Asst. Coordinator 996-9239 oalvarad@uic.edu MBRB 4150
Bailey, Symmorron Animal Quarters Supervisor 996-5456 bailey33@uic.edu SES 1121
Beck, Ryan Agricultural Gardener Foreman 996-2577 ryanbeck@uic.edu Greenhouse
Brand, Beth Graduate Office Coordinator 996-2955 bethann@uic.edu SES 3248
Camacho, Gildardo IT Support Associate 996-9596 gcamac1@uic.edu biossupport@uic.edu SES 3236
Conners, Geoffrey Asst Facility Manager 996-4611 gconner@uic.edu SES 3336
D'Souza, Priya H.R. Associate 996-2213 pdsouza@uic.edu SES 3238
Dean, Chris Storeroom Keeper 996-4973 chrisdn@uic.edu SES 4320
Edwards, Judith Program Coordinator 996-0131 Jle422@uic.edu MBRB 4150
Fredricks, Bernadette Coordinator Neuro / LIN 413-1060 bfred@uic.edu SEL 4277
Genio, Glenda Director of Administration 413-3859 glenda@uic.edu SES 3244
Harrison, Suzanne Program Coordinator 996-2207 suzanne7@uic.edu SES 3256
Hu, Yang Accounting Associate 996-0829 huyang@uic.edu SES 3372
Keller, Gregory Undergrad Academic Advisor 996-4646 gkeller1@uic.edu SES 3276
Kitcharoen, Corinna CBC Program Coordinator 996-1311 ckitch1@uic.edu MRBR 4070
Kleist, Margaret Graduate Office Coordinator 996-2931 kleist@uic.edu SES 3250
Lagen, Thomas Director of Finance 996-2222 thomlage@uic.edu SES 3376
Ricker, Vanessa Undergrad Academic Advisor 996-2211 rickervk@uic.edu SES 3266
Scios, James Horticulturist Greenhouse 996-2577 james@uic.edu Greenhouse
Sias, Alma Accounting Associate 996-2218 arsias@uic.edu SES 3366
Stark, Tricia Undergrad Academic Advisor 996-2211 tricia@uic.edu SES 3270
Sterling, Wayne Asst. Electronic Engineer 996-9694 sterling@uic.edu SES 3386
Williams, Farris General Information 996-2211 farrisw@uic.edu SES 3268
Zeid, Brian Accountant 996-2223 zeidb@uic.edu SES 3374

                                Graduate Students

Back to the top

Name

Position

Phone
(312)

Email

Office

Alpert, Michael Graduate Student 413-3056 alpert@uic.edu SEL 4267
Applegate, Dan Graduate Student 996-3476 dapple2@uic.edu SEL 3092
Arnold, Erika Graduate Student 413-0023 earnol3@uic.edu SES 34l5
Field Museum
Arsala, Deanna Graduate Student   darsal2@uic.edu  
Backs, Janet Graduate Student 996-9462 jbacks@uic.edu SEL 1031
Bai, Junqin Heidi Graduate Student 996-0716 jbai7@uic.edu MBRB 4110
Baker, Adam Graduate Student   abaker27@uic.edu  
Balu, Deebika Graduate Student 996-5124 dbalu2@uic.edu SEL 3044
Balyan, Arjun Graduate Student   abalya2@uic.edu  
Barkus, Katherine Graduate Student 996-9674 kbarkus2@uic.edu MBRB 4210
Belaire, Amy Graduate Student   jbelai2@uic.edu  
Blanc Betes, Elena Graduate Student 996-5929 mblanc7@uic.edu SES 3344
Blass, Greg Graduate Student 413-9624 gblass2@uic.edu SEL 4278
Bleicher, Sonny Graduate Student   sbleic2@uic.edu SES 3340
Braunskill, Kesha Graduate Student   kbraun4@uic.edu  
Browe, Brigitte Graduate Student   bbrowe2@uic.edu  
Brunner, Rachel Graduate Student 355-0463 rbrunn2@uic.edu MBRB 4168
Choi, Ji In Graduate Student 413-1553 jchoi26@uic.edu SEL 4083
Church, Emily Graduate Student 413-3056 ecchurch@uic.edu SEL 4267
Cohen, Lorna Graduate Student   cohen36@uic.edu  
Crouch, Nicholas Graduate Student

413-8269

ncrouc2@uic.edu SEL 4093
Czupryna, Anna Graduate Student   aczupr3@uic.edu SES 3340
de la Peña-Domene, Marinés Graduate Student   mdelap3@uic.edu SES 3462
Deliu, Zane Graduate Student 996-0896 zdeliu2@uic.edu MBRB 4010
Diaconeasa, Bianca Graduate Student 996-3560 bvinti1@uic.edu MBRB 4160
Drewniak, Beth Graduate Student   bdrewn2@uic.edu  
Eksi, Sebnem Graduate Student 996-9674 seksi2@uic.edu MBRB 4218
Farfan, Monica Graduate Student 355-3231 mfarfa2@uic.edu SES 1454
Fatima, Farida Graduate Student 355-0463 ffatim3@uic.edu MBRB 4168
Fidino, Mason Graduate Student   mfidin2@uic.edu  
Fonnemann, Brandon Graduate Student 413-3542 bfonne2@uic.edu SEL 1016
Frack, Michelle Graduate Student 996-4584 mfrack2@uic.edu SES 3342
Gharehaghaji, Maryam Graduate Student   mghare2@uic.edu  
Gorman, Kevin Graduate Student 355-5684 kgorma5@uic.edu SEL 3067
Grewe, Brian Graduate Student 996-5336 bgrewe1@uic.edu MBRB 4210
Guzman, Crystal Graduate Student 996-1820 cguzma8@uic.edu SES 3462
Halloway, Abdel Graduate Student   ahallo2@uic.edu SES 3357
Hancock, Eric Graduate Student   ehanco2@uic.edu SES 3340
Herman, Brook Graduate Student 355-3231 bherma4@uic.edu SES 1454
Huber, Paul Graduate Student 996-9111 phuber2@uic.edu MBRB 4060
Hunt, Victoria Graduate Student   vhunt5@uic.edu SES 3340
Inniss, Nicole Graduate Student 413-8174 ninniss2@uic.edu MBRB 4118
Ismael, Amber Graduate Student 996-0896 aismae2@uic.edu MBRB 4010
Jacoby, Jason Graduate Student 413-1553 jjacob27@uic.edu SEL 4083
Jinga, Percy Graduate Student   pjinga2@uic.edu  
Johnston, Douglas Graduate Student   djohns73@uic.edu SES 3342
Jorgensen, Michael Graduate Student 413-3542 mjohns34@uic.edu SEL 1016
Kauser, Imrose Graduate Student 996-0549 ikause2@uic.edu MBRB 4268
Kierny, Michael Graduate Student 996-0392 mkiern2@uic.edu MBRB 4318
Kim, Eun Sun Graduate Student 996-9462 ekim85@uic.edu SEL 1028
Kim, Jane Graduate Student 413-2471 jkim340@uic.edu MBRB 4118
Kirt, Susan Graduate Student   skirt2@uic.edu SES 1454
Kokoszka, Gosia Graduate Student   mzytko2@uic.edu  
Kozlova, Alena Graduate Student 996-9111 akozlo7@uic.edu MBRB 4060
Kuroiwa, Emi Graduate Student   ekuroi2@uic.edu  
Langer, Elizabeth Graduate Student 996-5190 elange5@uic.edu SEL 4311
Li, Yanyang Graduate Student 355-0463 yli98@uic.edu MBRB 4168
Lloyd, Mark Graduate Student   mlloyd8@uic.edu SES 3340
Lowenstein, David Graduate Student 355-1051 dlowen2@uic.edu SES 3326
Lynch, Douglas Graduate Student   dlynch3@uic.edu SES 3342
Malone, Margaret Graduate Student   mmalon29@uic.edu SES 3340
Manning, Laura Graduate Student   manning5@uic.edu  
Markova, Mira Graduate Student 413-3542 dmarko5@uic.edu SEL 1016
Marquez, Liliana Graduate Student 355-0318 lmarqu6@uic.edu SEL 3067
Marshall, Kellen A. Graduate Student   kmarsh9@uic.edu SES 3342
Martin, Ashley Graduate Student 996-5190 amarti7@uic.edu SEL 4309
Martinez, José-Cristian Graduate Student 355-3231 jmarti51@uic.edu SES 1454
McCallough, Christopher Graduate Student 996-9674 cmccal2@uic.edu MBRB 4218
McCary, Matthew Graduate Student   mmccar26@uic.edu  
McGinley, Andrea Graduate Student 355-0463 amario3@uic.edu MBRB 4168
Milton, Angenee Graduate Student 996-9111 amilto3@uic.edu MBRB 4060
Mores, Robin Graduate Student 355-3231 rmores2@uic.edu SES 1454
Muñiz-Talavera, Hilmarie Graduate Student 996-9674 munizta1@uic.edu MBRB 4218
Nunnelly, Danielle Graduate Student 996-0549 dnunne2@uic.edu MBRB 4268
Osborne, Hilary Graduate Student 996-5440 hosbor3@uic.edu SES 3340
Palagi, Jason Graduate Student 996-9462 jpalag2@uic.edu SEL 1031
Peplinski, Joy Graduate Student   jpepli2@uic.edu SES 3340
Perez, Lillian Graduate Student   perez36@illinois.edu  
Pers, Daniel Graduate Student 996-9111 dpers3@uic.edu MBRB 4060
Quan, Honghu Graduate Student hquan2@uic.edu MBRB 4318
Raduski, Andrew Graduate Student 413-8269 aradus2@uic.edu SEL 4093
Ramachandran, Shankar Graduate Student 355-0945 sramac2@uic.edu SEL 4263
Ramakrishnan, Kalpana Graduate Student 996-9111 kramak2@uic.edu MBRB 4060
Ramanauskas, Karolis Graduate Student 413-8269 kraman2@uic.edu SEL 4093
Raut, Saleel Graduate Student 355-0318 sraut2@uic.edu SEL 3067
Ray, Alyssa Graduate Student   aray9@uic.edu  
Ricketts, Michael Graduate Student   rickett4@uic.edu SES 3356
Rodgriguez, Braulio Graduate Student   brodri34@uic.edu  
Rodriguez, Shelah Graduate Student 413-3056 smeyer9@uic.edu SEL 4263
Rucks, Jessica Graduate Student   jrucks2@uic.edu  
Seltzer, Carrie Graduate Student 996-2017 cseltz2@uic.edu SES 3464
Silva, Alexandra Graduate Student 355-1051 amsilva2@uic.edu SES 3326
Smith, Sandra Graduate Student   stroxe2@uic.edu  
Soetedjo, Livana Graduate Student 413-8174 lsoete2@uic.edu MBRB 4118
Sukumar, Madhushalini Graduate Student 996-0896 msukum2@uic.edu MBRB 4010
Sullivan, Steven Graduate Student   ssulli21@uic.edu SES 3357
Tchernookova, Boriana Graduate Student 355-1287 btcher2@uic.edu SEL 4265
Tovpeko, Yanina Graduate Student 996-0716 ytovpe2@uic.edu MBRB 4110
Varga, Kelly Graduate Student 413-0089 kvarga3@uic.edu SEL 4296
Venegas, Leon Graduate Student 996-9674 lveneg3@uic.edu MBRB 4218
Vosseller, Lauren Graduate Student   vossell1@uic.edu  
Walters, Leena Graduate Student   lewalte2@uic.edu  
Wang, Xin Graduate Student   xwang230@uic.edu  
Waszczak, Nicholas Graduate Student 996-0896 nwaszc1@uic.edu MBRB 4010
White, Dawson Graduate Student   dwhite31@uic.edu  
Wilk, John Graduate Student   jwilk@uic.edu SEL 1028
Wyskiel, Emily Graduate Student 996-9674 ejense6@uic.edu MBRB 4218
Yang, Zi Graduate Student 996-9292 zyang20@uic.edu MBRB 4068
Zambrano, Jenny Graduate Student 413-0023 jzambr3@uic.edu SES 3458
Zinn, Sarah Graduate Student 996-0184 szinn2@uic.edu MBRB 4168

                       Emeritus/Affilitates/Adjuncts

Back to the top

Name

Position

Phone
(312)

Email

Office

Anderson, Louise E. Professor Emeritus 996-4547 louise@uic.edu SES 3278
Bardack, David Professor Emeritus 996-4578 dbardack@uic.edu SES 3358
Comer, Christopher M. Emeritus Professor      
Bates, John Adj Prof 312-665-7730 x632 jbates@fieldmuseum.org jbates@uic.edu The Field Museum
Bennett, B.Taylor Affiliate 996-1221 btb@uic.edu BRL 101E
Bouck, G. Benjamin Professor Emeritus 996-5458 bbouck@uic.edu SES 3470
Buhse, Howard E. Professor Emeritus 996-2997 spasmin@uic.edu SES 3242
Chen, Shepley Assoc Professor Emeritus      
Comer, Christopher Professor Emeritus   ccomer@uic.edu  
Cummings, Michael R. Emeritus Associate Professor 996-2259 cummings@uic.edu SEL 3068
Dick, Carl Adj Asst Prof 270-745-2043 Carl.dick@wku.edu Western Kentucky University
Dunn, Christopher Adj Assoc Prof 847-835-6934 cdunn@mortonarb.org Chicago Botanic Garden
Earnhardt, Joanne Adj Prof 312-742-7745 joanne@lpzoo.org Lincoln Park Zoo
Faust, Lisa Adjunct Research Asst. Prof 312-742-7227 lfaust@lpzoo.org Lincoln Park Zoo
Feldheim, Kevin Adj Asst Prof   kfeldheim@fieldmuseum.org Field Museum
Flynn, John Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 665-7620 flynn@fieldmuseum.org  
Gassman, Merrill L. Professor Emeritus 996-5438 mgassman@uic.edu SES 3448
Grande, Lance Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 665-7632 grande@fieldmuseum.org  
Greenberg, Bernard Professor Emeritus 996-3103 bugaboo@uic.edu SES 3368
Havens, Kayri Adj Asst Prof 847-835-8378 khavens@chicagobotanic.org Chicago Botanic Garden
Heaney, Lawrence Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 665-7747 heaney@fieldmuseum.org  
Hulett, Marion F. Professor Emeritus   hulett@uic.edu  
Huhndorf, Sabine Adj Res Asst Prof 312-665-7855 shuhndorf@fieldmuseum.org The Field Museum
Kaplan, Arnold Professor Emeritus 996-2211 akaplan@uic.edu  
Kelso, Stephen Associate Professor Emeritus 996-2787 skelso@uic.edu SEL 4294
Lacy, Robert Adj Prof 708-485-0263 rlacy@1x.netcom.com Brookfield Zoo
Larson, John Affliate Psychiatry 413-4572 jrlarson@uic.edu PI 277A
Lidgard, Scott Adjunct/Field Museum (312) 665-7625 lidgard@fieldmuseum.org  
Liebman, Susan W. Professor Emeritus   suel@uic.edu  
Liu, Nan Visiting Scientist, Chinese Academy of Sciences 996-8674 nliu22@uic.edu SEL 4103
Lonsdorf, Eric Adj Prof 312-742-7216 ericlonsdorf@lpzoo.org lonsdorf@uic.edu Lincoln Park Zoo
McMurray, Erin Graduate Student   enhobbs@uic.edu  
Mertz, David B. Professor Emeritus      
Meyer-Dombard, D'Arcy Affiliate (Asst Prof) 996-2423 drmd@uic.edu SES 2474
Miller, Leo Professor Emeritus 996-2211 leo@uic.edu  
Mueller, Gregory M. Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 665-7840 gmueller@fieldmuseum.org  
Murray, Darrel L. Professor Emeritus 996-5450 dmurray@uic.edu SES 3472
Nichols, Brian Professor Emeritus 996-5064 bnichols@uic.edu SES 3470
Nicolette, John Professor Emeritus      
Nyberg, Dennis Professor Emeritus, Director of Prairie 996-2643 csnp@uic.edu SES 3452
Patterson, Bruce D. Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 665-7750 bpatterson@fieldmuseum.org  
Plotnick, Roy E. Affiliate Earth and Environmental Sciences 996-2111 plotnick@uic.edu SES 2454
Poulson, Thomas L. Professor Emeritus 996-4537 poulson@uic.edu SEL 1012
Puche, Helena Adj Res Asst Prof 413-0023 hpuche@uic.edu SES 3464
Qian, Haohua Adjunct Prof 301-435-6275 haohua.qian@nih.gov hqian@uic.edu  
Ragozzino, Michael Affiliate Assoc Professor 413-2630 mrago@uic.edu BSB 1042A
Rouffa, Albert S. Professor Emeritus 996-2211    
Santymire, Rachel Adj Asst Prof 312-742-3520 rsantymire@lpzoo.org Lincoln Park Zoo
Shapiro, Stanley K. Professor Emeritus 996-4444 sshapiro@uic.edu SES 3468
Shomay, David Emeritus Associate Professor 996-3245 dxs@uic.edu SEL 3066
Sierwald, Petra Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 922-9410 sierwald@uic.edu  
Simpson, Sidney B. Professor Emeritus 355-0328 sid@uic.edu SEL 4285
Soejarto, Djaja D. Affiliate Pharmacognosy 996-8889 dds@uic.edu PHARM 318
Spiess, Elliot Professor Emeritus 996-4444 espiess@uic.edu SES 3468
Thompson, Steven Adj Professor Lincoln Pk Zoo (312) 742-7765 stevent@uic.edu sthompson@lpzoo.org  
Voris, Harold Adjunct/ Field Museum (312) 665-7769 hvoris@fieldmuseum.org  
Weaver, Steven Associate Professor Emeritus   sweaver@uic.edu  
Willey, Ruth Associate Professor Emeritus   scottie@uic.edu  
Witmer, Heman J. Emeritus Associate Professor 996-5454 hwitmer@uic.edu SES 3454

Back to the top