ECON Home | LAS Home | Contact the ECON Department
University of Illinois at Chicago
Economics Faculty & Staff
Courses
Undergraduate
Graduate Programs
Centers & Associations
Information For: Future LAS Students
Current LAS Students
LAS Faculty & Staff
LAS Alumni
Information About: LAS
Calendars and Meetings
LAS Academic Units

Font Size:AA
Home >>Faculty >>List of Faculty members

List of Faculty Members

Professors  
Ali T. Akarca
akarca@uic.edu
Clinical Professor
M.S., University of Wisconsin at Madison, 1972
Macroeconomics, Time Series Analysis and Forecasting, Economy and Politics of Turkey
 
Frank J. Chaloupka IV
fjc@uic.edu
Homepage
Distinguished Professor, Director of Health Policy Center
Ph.D., City University of New York, 1988
Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics

Robert Kaestner
kaestner@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., City University of New York, 1988
Health, Labor, Social Policy, Econometrics

George Karras
gkarras@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor
Ph.D., Ohio State University, 1990
Macroeconomics, International Economics, Econometrics

Evelyn L. Lehrer
elehrer@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1978
Economic Demography, Labor Economics

Deirdre McCloskey
deirdre2@uic.edu
Homepage
Distinguished Professor of Economics, History and English
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1970
Economic History, History of Economic Thought
 
Lawrence H. Officer
lofficer@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1965
International Economics, Economic History

Joseph J. Persky
jpersky@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1971
Urban and Regional Economics, History of Economic Thought

Steven G. Rivkin sgrivkin@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor - Head Department of Economics
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1991
Education, Labor, Public, Applied Econometrics

Helen Roberts
hroberts@uic.edu
Homepage
Clinical Professor, Director of Center for Economic Education
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1995
Economic Education, Industrial Organization, International Trade, Econometrics
 
Houston H. Stokes
hhstokes@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1969
Applied Econometrics, Macroeconomics, Software

Mo-Yin S. Tam
moyintam@uic.edu Homepage
Professor, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1974
Managerial Economics, Comparative Economic Systems
 
     
     
Associate Professors  
Darren H. Lubotsky
lubotsky@uic.edu
Homepage
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2000
Labor Economics, Health Economics
 
Richard M. Peck
rmpeck@uic.edu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1983
Microeconomics, Public Finance, Industrial Organization
 
Paul J. Pieper
pjpieper@uic.edu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1984
Macroeconomics, National Income, Economics of Education 

William G. Stanford
wgstan@uic.edu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1984
Game Theory, Mathematical Economics

John Tauras tauras@uic.edu
Homepage
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, 1998
Health Economics

     
     
Assistant Professors  
Nathan B. Anderson
nba@uic.edu
Homepage
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2005
Public Finance, Urban Economics, International Trade
 
Marcus Casey
mcasey@uic.edu
Homepage
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2009
Urban Economics, Public Economics, Labor Economics
 
Ben Ost
bost@uic.edu
Homepage
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University, 2011
Labor Economics, Economics of Education
 
Javaeria Qureshi
javaeria@uic.edu
Homepage
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2012
Labor Economics, Applied Econometrics, Development Economics
 
     

Professor Emeritus

Eliezer B. Ayal
eayal@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Cornell University, 1961
Economic Development, Urbanization
 
Barry R. Chiswick
brchis@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Columbia University, 1967
Labor Economics, Human Resources, Microeconomics

Carmel U. Chiswick
cchis@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor Emerita
Ph.D., Columbia University, 1972
Economic Development, Labor Economics, Economics of Religion

William D. Grampp Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1944
History of Economic Thought, Economics of the Arts

Richard F. Kosobud
kosobud@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1963
Energy and Environmental Economics, Macroeconomics 

John F. McDonald
mcdonald@uic.edu
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Yale University, 1971
Urban Economics, Real Estate Economics

Oscar Miller
omiller@uic.edu
Professor Emeritus
M.A., University of Chicago, 1948
Economic Education

George Rosen Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1949
Economic Development of India & China

Affiliated Faculties

Gilbert W. Bassett, Jr.
gib@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor of Finance
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1973
Statistics, Financial Markets, Energy Economics

Robert S. Chirinko
chirinko@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor of Finance
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1982
Business Behavior, Capital Formation, Tax Policy
 
Lorens Helmchen
helmchen@uic.edu
Homepage
Assistant Professor, Health Policy and Administration
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2004
Health Economics, Labor Economics, Applied Econometrics

Anthony LoSasso
losasso@uic.edu
Homepage
Associate Professor, Health Policy and Administration
Ph.D., Indiana University in Bloomington, 1996
Health Economics, Labor Economics

Jin Man Lee
jmlee@uic.edu
Homepage
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, 2001
Applied Econometrics, Time Series Analysis, Internet Economics

David F. Merriman
dmerrim@uic.edu
Homepage
Professor, Institute of Government and Public Affairs
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1983
State and Local Public Finance, Urban and Regional Economics
 
Lisa Powell
powelll@uic.edu
Homepage
Research Professor
Ph.D., Queens University, 1995
Health Economics

Surrey Walton
walton@uic.edu
Associate Professor of Phamacy Administration
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1997
Pharmacoeconomics, Health Economics
 
Samuel H. Williamson sam@mswth.org
Homepage

Research Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1968
Economic History, Social Security

Top

UIC Main Page Copyright © 2005 Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois
Contact the Webmaster