Professors

 

Sunil Agnani
Associate Professor
European Enlightenment, The Long Eighteenth Century, Literature of Empire & Decolonization
Office: 1919 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2234
Email:
sagnani1@uic.edu

Michael Anania
Professor Emeritus
Poetry and prose
Email: anania@uic.edu

Jennifer Ashton
Associate Professor
American literature
Office: 2015 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.9568
Email: jashton@uic.edu

Natasha Barnes
Associate Professor
African American literature, Caribbean literature, cultural studies
Office: 1228 University Hall
Email: nbbarnes@uic.edu

Thomas H. Bestul
Professor Emeritus
Medieval literature
Office: 1913 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2226
Email: tbestul@uic.edu

Nicholas Brown
Associate Professor
Literature of Africa, modernism, critical theory
Office:
2000 University Hall
Phone: 312.996.2981
Email: cola@uic.edu

Mark Canuel
Professor
Romantic literature
Office: 2033 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2203
Email: mcanuel@uic.edu

Mark Chiang
Associate Professor
Asian American literature
Office: 803 University Hall
Phone: 312.996.2580
Email: mchiang@uic.edu

Ralph Cintrón
Associate Professor
Rhetoric and ethnography
Office: 2012 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2736
Email: rcintron@uic.edu

Nancy Cirillo
Professor Emerita
Comparative literature
Office: 1923 University Hall
Phone: 312-413-9798
Email: nancyc@uic.edu

Ainsworth A. Clarke
Assistant Professor
Office: 1205 University Hall
Phone: 312.996.4789
Email: ac57@uic.edu

Lennard Davis
LAS Distinguished Professor
The novel, critical theory, deaf and disability studies, biocultures
Office: 2020 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.8910
Email: lendavis@uic.edu

Todd DeStigter
Associate Professor
English education, ethnography, literacy
Office: 1902 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.1043
Email: tdestig@uic.edu

Madhu Dubey
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
African American literature, cultural studies, postmodernism
Office: 1911 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2248
Email: madhud@uic.edu

Ann Merle Feldman
Professor Emerita
Teaching of writing
Office: 2001 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2249
Email: feldman@uic.edu


Lisa Freeman
Associate Professor, Associate Head
18th-century British literature, drama, Romanticism
Office: 2013 University Hall
Phone: 312-355-2530
Email: lfreeman@uic.edu

Judith Kegan Gardiner
Professor Emerita
Writing by women, 17th-century British literature, Feminism
Office: 1905 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.9138
Email: gardiner@uic.edu

Gerald Graff
Professor
American literature, critical theory
Office: 2006 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.9364
Email: ggraff@uic.edu

Robin Grey
Associate Professor
Colonial and 19th C. American lit., 17th C. British literature
Office: 1925 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2902
Email: rgrey@uic.edu

Christopher Grimes
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Fiction
Office: 1926 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.0060
Email: cgrimes@uic.edu

Rachel Havrelock
Associate Professor
Biblical studies, folklore
Office: 1909 University Hall
Phone: 312-413-4689
Email: raheleh@uic.edu

Brian Higgins
Professor Emeritus
Melville, American literature
Email: bhiggins@uic.edu

Clark Hulse
Professor Emeritus
Renaissance literature and cultural studies
Email: chulse@uic.edu

John Huntington
Professor Emeritus
Cultural studies, science fiction, Renaissance literature
Office: 2010 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2247
Email: huntingj@uic.edu

Kyoko Inoue
Professor Emerita
Language and ethnicity in American history
Office: 1925 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2902
Email: kinoue@uic.edu

Helen Jun
Associate Professor
Asian American literature
Office: 1924 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2223
Email: junhelen@uic.edu

Anna Kornbluh
Assistant Professor
Victorian literature and critical theory
Office: 2015 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.8142
Email: kornbluh@uic.edu

Michael Lieb
Professor Emeritus
Milton, Renaissance literature, the Bible
Email: mlieb@uic.edu

Ned Lukacher
Professor Emeritus
Literary theory, philosophy, psychoanalysis
Office: 2014 University Hall
Phone: 312.355.2453
Email: lukacher@uic.edu

Adam Makkai
Professor Emeritus
Syntax, poetics, general linguistics
Email: admakkai@uic.edu

Sylvia Manning
Professor Emerita
19th-century British literature, Dickens
Email: manning@uic.edu

Cris Mazza
Professor, Director of the Program for Writers
Fiction
Office: 1932 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2795
Email: cmazza@uic.edu

Deirdre McCloskey
Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Rhetoric of economics, bourgeois values, gender studies
Office: 2027 University Hall
Phone: 312.355.4380
Email: deirdre2@uic.edu

Christian Messenger
Professor Emeritus
American literature, cultural studies
Office: 1920 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2227
Email: chrism1@uic.edu

Walter Benn Michaels
Professor
American literature, literary theory
Office: 1901 University Hall
Email: wbm@uic.edu

Mary Anne Mohanraj
Clinical Assistant Professor
Office: 1915 University Hall
Phone: 312-413-7593
Email: mohanraj@uic.edu

Nasser Mufti
Assistant Professor
Victorian Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Critical Theory
Office: 2022 University Hall
Phone: 312-413-1559
Email: nmufti@uic.edu

Lawrence Poston
Professor Emeritus
Victorian literature
Email: lsposton@uic.edu

Christina Pugh
Associate Professor
Poetry
Office: 1914 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.7400
Email: capugh@uic.edu

Robin Reames
Assistant Professor
Rhetoric
Office: 2024 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2244
Email: rreames@uic.edu

Roger Reeves
Assistant Professor
Office: 1928 University Hall
Email: rwr472@uic.edu

John Rohsenow
Professor Emeritus
Syntax, Chinese
Email: rohsenow@uic.edu

Mary Beth Rose
Professor, Director of the Institute for the Humanities
Renaissance literature, drama, gender studies
Office: Stevenson Hall, B2
Phone: 312.996.7815
Email: mbrose@uic.edu

David Schaafsma
Associate Professor, Director of English Education
Community-based literacy, narrative inquiry
Office: 1904 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2222
Email: schaaf1@uic.edu

Joseph Tabbi
Professor, Associate Head
Contemporary literature, technology and literature
Office: 1912 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2233
Email: jtabbi@uic.edu

Alfred Thomas
Professor
Medieval and Early-Modern English and European Literature
Office: 2009 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2246
Email: alfredt@uic.edu

Luis Urrea
LAS Distinguished Professor
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry
Office: 1908 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2221
Email: lurrea@uic.edu

Virginia Wright Wexman
Professor Emerita
Film, film theory
Office: 1923 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.9798
Email: vwexman@uic.edu

Terence Whalen
Associate Professor
19th-century American literature
Office: 1922 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2225
Email: twhalen@uic.edu

Eugene Wildman
Associate Professor Emeritus
Fiction
Office: 1918 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2229
Email: gwild@uic.edu

Anne Winters
Professor Emerita
Poetry
Office: 1909 University Hall
Phone: 312.413.2232
Email: awinters@uic.edu