Environmental Health and Safety Office
Health and Safety Section

Phones
Mailing Address
Campus Location
Voice: (312) 996-7411
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Emergency: (312) 996-7233

University of Illinois at Chicago
Health and Safety Section, M/C 645
1129 S. Hermitage Avenue.
Chicago, IL 60612-7217
Room 111

Life and Fire Safety Group

Keith Hronek
Hospital Safety Officer
(312) 413-3705
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: khronek@uic.edu
Jose A. Diaz
Building Inspector
(312) 413-2430
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: jdiaz30@uic.edu
Osmany Martinez
Building Inspector
(312) 413-2430
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: tata@uic.edu
Marco Navarro
Safety Communications Specialist
(312) 413-9746
Fax: (312) 413-3700
mnava@uic.edu
Dennis Terpin
Industrial Hygienist
(312) 413-5657
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: dterpin@uic.edu
Paige Wietelmann
Industrial Hygienist
(312) 413-3702
Fax: (312) 413-3700
paige3@uic.edu

Laboratory Safety and Environmental Compliance Group

Heather Jackson M.S., CHMM, CSP
Assistant Director for Chemical & Environmental Compliance
(312) 413-9706
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: heather9@uic.edu
Kevin Cisner, ASP, CSP
Laboratory Compliance Coordinator
(312) 413-3387
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: kcisne1@uic.edu
Jose Gonzalez
Hazardous Waste Specialist
(312) 413-7260
Fax: (312) 413-3703
Email: jgonza55@uic.edu
Tom Johnson, CHMM
Hazardous Waste Compliance Manager
(312) 413-2436
Fax: (312) 413-3703
Email: tjohns16@uic.edu
Carlos Lopez
Lab Safety Advisor
(312) 413-7260
Fax: (312) 413-3703
Email: clopez21@uic.edu

Jerome Sides
Asbestos Coordinator
(312) 996-3704
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: jvsides@uic.edu

Scott Dubick
Laser Safety Officer
(312) 996-1638
Fax: (312) 996-8776
Email: sdubic1@uic.edu

Biological Safety

Leo M. Njongmeta
Senior Biological Safety Specialist and Responsible Official
(312) 413-5986
Fax: (312) 996-8776
Email: nleo@uic.edu

Changhwa Hwang
Biological Safety Officer
(312) 355-2693
Fax: (312) 996-8776
Email: chwang5@uic.edu

Support Staff

Juana Guzman
Resource & Policy Analyst
(Network/Database Administrator)
(312) 413-8593
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: jruiz@uic.edu
Arash Jalali
Resource & Policy Analyst
(Budget/Finance Management)
(312) 413-8732
Fax: (312) 413-3700
Email: jalali@uic.edu
Management Team

Radiation Safety Section Personnel