Faculty

D'Arcy Meyer-Dombard

Max Berkelhammer


Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2010, University of Southern California
Natural and anthropogenic processes affecting atmospheric water cycle; influence of water cycle on ecosystems and the carbon cycle.
Room 2456
Phone 312-413-8271
berkelha@uic.edu
Research Interests
D'Arcy Meyer-Dombard

Andrew J. Dombard

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., 2000, Washington University in St. Louis
Planetary Science and Exploration, Geophysics
Room 2464
Phone (312) 996-9206
adombard@uic.edu
Research Interests

Peter T. Doran

Professor
Ph.D., 1996, University of Nevada - Reno
Hydrology, Quaternary, Lacustrine processes, Periglacial environments, Extreme environments, Exobiology
Room 2452
Phone (312) 413-7275
pdoran@uic.edu
Personal Homepage
Research Interests

Steven L. Forman

Professor
Ph.D., 1986, University of Colorado - Boulder
Quaternary environments, Paleoclimatology, Eolian depositional systems, Arctic land-sea interactions, Neotectonics, Geochronology
Room 3164
Phone (312) 413-9404
slf@uic.edu
Luminescence Lab Homepage
Research Interests

Stephen J. Guggenheim

Professor
Ph.D., 1976, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Clay mineralogy, Organo-clays, Phyllosilicates, Thermal analysis, Transmission electron microscopy, X-ray diffraction
Room 2466
Phone (312) 996-3263
xtal@uic.edu
Research Interests

Fabien Kenig

Professor
Ph.D., 1991, Université d'Orléans, France
Biogeochemistry, Organic geochemistry, Stable isotope geochemistry, Paleoceanography, Life in extreme environments
Room 2450
Phone (312) 996-3020
fkenig@uic.edu
OGL Homepage
Research Interests
Andrew J. Dombard

D'Arcy Meyer-Dombard

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2004, Washington University in St. Louis
Geobiology, Microbial Geochemistry, Environmental Genomics, Ecology of "extreme" Environments
Room 2474
Phone (312) 996-2423
drmd@uic.edu
EDGElab Homepage
Research Interests

Kathryn L. Nagy

Professor and Department Head
Ph.D., 1988, Texas A&M University
Environmental geochemistry, Mineral-water interface kinetics and thermodynamics, Mercury interactions with natural organic matter
Room 2442
Phone (312) 355-3276
klnagy@uic.edu
Research Interests

Roy E. Plotnick

Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., 1983, University of Chicago
Paleontology, Paleoecology, Landscape ecology, Statistical methods
Room 2454
Phone (312) 996-2111
plotnick@uic.edu
Research Interests
Personal Home Page

Stefany Sit

Clinical Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2013, Miami University
Geophysics
Room 2476
Phone (312) 413-1868
ssit@uic.edu

Carol A. Stein

Professor
Ph.D., 1984, Columbia University
Plate tectonics, Marine geophysics, Heat flow
Room 2472
Phone (312) 996-9349
cstein@uic.edu
Research Interests
Personal Home Page

Neil C. Sturchio

Professor
Ph.D., 1983, Washington University
Mineral-fluid interactions, environmental geochemistry, and isotopic geochemistry, over a wide range of scales, as studied both in the laboratory and in nature
Room 2470
Phone (312) 355-1182
sturchio@uic.edu
Research Interests

Research Faculty

Jean Bogner

Jean E. Bogner

Research Professor
Landfill gas processes and emissions/Contaminant hydrogeology

Affiliate Faculty

Miquel Gonzalez-Meler

Miquel Gonzalez-Meler

Assistant Professor, UIC Department of Biological Sciences Physiological and ecosystem ecology, global change and stable isotope ecology
Room 3223
Phone (312) 355-3928
mmeler@uic.edu
Research Interests

Coordinator of Undergraduate Labs

Sara Loiacono

Sara Loiacono

Coordinator of Undergraduate Labs
Room 1093 SEL
Phone (312) 996-4499
slafre2@uic.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Martin F. J. Flower
Petrology, Geochemistry, Geodynamics, Earth evolution
Room 2470
Phone (312) 996-9662
flower@uic.edu
Research Interests

August F. Koster van Groos
Experimental petrology and geochemistry
Room 2478
Phone (312) 996-8678
kvg@uic.edu
Research Interests

Kelvin S. Rodolfo
Volcanic hazards
Phone (312) 996-3154

Adjunct Faculty

Paul Fenter
Synchrotron studies of mineral-water interfaces
Argonne National Laboratory
Phone (630) 252-7053
fenter@anl.gov

Jeffrey S. Gaffney
Atmospheric chemistry
Research Interests
Phone (501) 569-8840
jsgaffney@ualr.edu

Christopher L. Hepplewhite
Atmospheric Physics and Remote sensing
B. Sc. (Meteorology and Physics), University of Reading, U.K.
D. Phil. (Atmospheric Physics), University of Oxford, U.K.
Sub-department of A.O.P.P.
c.Hepplewhite1@physics.ox.ac.uk; chepplew@uic.edu
Specialization: Middle atmosphere composition and infra-red remote observation (NASA/Aura Project)

Barry M. Lesht
Physical processes in aquatic systems; Environmental modeling

William F. Moll
Mineralogy
Oil-Dri Corporation
Phone (312) 321-1515
lakewood@dls.net

Martin A. Perlmutter (Marty)
Stratigraphy
Texaco
Phone (713) 954-6346
MPerlmutter@chevrontexaco.com

Mohamed I. Sultan
Department of Geosciences
Western Michigan University
1903 W. Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
Office: 9269) 387-5451; 387-5446
Fax: (269) 387-5513
mohamed.sultan@wmich.edu
http://www.esrs.wmich.edu/

Eugene Yan
Hydrogeology
Argonne National Laboratory
eyan1@uic.edu

Reika Yokochi
Noble gas geochemistry
University of Chicago
yokochi@uic.edu
Research Interests