CCTS: Translational Research Academy

Follow CCTS Online

  • TwitterFacebook

We have established the UIC Translational Research Academy (TRA) to provide a core group of senior faculty to work directly with CCTS leadership as "collaborative research facilitators." Robin Mermelstein, PhD, and Larry Tobacman, MD, PhD, Director and Associate Director of the CCTS Novel Translational and Collaborative Studies program, serve as co-chairs of the TRA. The TRA has been instrumental in the CCTS Pilot Grant reviews and in the development of the CCTS Studios.

CCTS Studios involve 90-minute, closed-session meetings that are individually designed to address specific questions or research needs of the investigator. The "Studio" engages a panel of selected experts and advisors to provide advice, feedback, or potential collaborative opportunities. Studios are available to CCTS Pilot Grant recipients and may be arranged through the CCTS Novel Translational and Collaborative Studies program or by contacting the Pilot Program Manager (

The following served as Translational Research Academy Members, 2008-2010.

Name Title Affiliation
Fabricio Balcazar Professor Institute of Disability and Human Development
Mark Grabiner Department Head Kinesiology and Nutrition, AHS
Tamar Heller Professor and Head Institute of Disability and Human Development
Yolanda Suarez-Balcazar Professor Occupational Therapy, AHS
Renee Taylor Professor Occupational Therapy , AHS
David Crowe Professor Center for Molecular Biology of Oral Diseases, COD
Luisa Dipietro Professor Department of Periodontics, COD
Christine Wu Professor Pediatric Dentistry, COD
Edwin Cook Professor of PsychiatryDept of Psychiatry, COM
Bruce Kaplan Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology and SurgeryDept of Medicine, COM
Asrar Malik Distinguished Professor and HeadDept of Pharmacology, COM
John Solaro Distinguished University Professor and HeadDept of Physiology and Biophysics, COM
John Sweeney Director of Center for Cognitive MedicineDept of Psychiatry, COM
Diana Wilkie Professor and Harriet Werley Endowed Chair for Nursing ResearchDept of Biobehavioral Health Science, CON
Bruce Lambert ProfessorPharmacy Administration, COP
Edith Nutescu Clinical Associate ProfessorPharmacy Practice, COP
Glen Schmock Associate ProfessorPharmacy Practice, COP
Richard van Breemen Professor of Medicinal ChemistryMedicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy, COP
Robert Bailey ProfessorEpidemiology and Biostatistics, SPH
Elizabeth Calhoun Associate ProfessorHealth Policy and Administration, SPH
Donald Hedeker ProfessorEpidemiology and Biostatistics, SPH
Pankaj Patel, MD PhysicianAdvocate Health Care
Josie Howard-Ruben, RN, MS Clinical Development Specialist Advocate Health Care