Images of U I C
Office of Special Scholarship Programs

Fulbright Fellowship


UIC Fulbright final deadline: September 12, 2014
Fulbright application deadine:
October 15, 2014

Important Notes: UIC students wishing to apply must be evaluated by a campus committee. Please contact the Office of Special Scholarship Programs for more information about the campus evaluation process.

Eligibility: Applicants must be U.S. citizens who hold a BA or BS by the beginning of the grant period. Applicants must also have sufficient proficiency in the written and spoken language of the host country in order to carry out the proposed study.

Description: The United States Congress created the Fulbright Program in 1946, immediately after World War II, to foster mutual understanding among nations through educational and cultural exchange. The U.S. Student Program awards approximately 1,800 grants annually and sends students to over 155 countries worldwide. These grants generally provide round-trip transportation, language or orientation courses, maintenance for the academic year (based on living costs in the host country), and supplemental health and accident insurance.

Students participate in a self-designed program of study that can include research, university coursework, language study and more. Students can also choose to assist in teaching English in one of almost 70 countries, at the elementary, high school or university level.

UIC winners who OSSP worked with (undergraduate & professional students, UIC alumni)
2014 - Lea Crowley (ETA), Aqsa Durrani, Rebecca Liebman, Ponnu Padiyara (ETA)
2013 - Wenji Guo, Suzanne Oskouie
2012 - Lan Dam, Tomasz Gliszewski, Sarah Kammerer, Marielle Newman
2011 - Kevin Conley (ETA), Julianne Faust, Jessica Galea, Sarah Isel (ETA), Anothai Kaewkaen, Ada Moadshiri
- Saeb Ahsan, Oisin Kenny, Brett McNeil (ETA), Daniel Schneider
2009 - Shauna Gunaratne
- Jessica Harper, Leigh Hellman (ETA), Farah Shareef
2007 - Julia Geynisman
2006 - Missa Ayyash, Erika Lizeth Sanchez (ETA)
2005 - Sae-Rom Chae, Brandi Mora (ETA)
2004 - Gina Caneva (ETA), Igor Rodriguez
2003 - David Boren, Anagha Loharikar, Kathleen O'Dell, Rena Patel
2002 - Jeffrey Meier, Juliana Choi, Kara Babrowski, Denise Nepveux, Archana Reddy
2001 - Haley Naik, Kyle Rimkus, Chaundra Glenn

Send applications to: current UIC students must go through a campus evaluation process; please contact the Office of Special Scholarship Programs for details.

PowerPoint Presentation on the Fulbright

More information on applying for the Fulbright at UIC


Our services are only for students at the University of Illinois at Chicago

Email us with questions or to make an appointment


Copyright © 2012 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois
Contact the webmaster

Scholarship Awards

Application Process

  Application Advice




Web Links