Images of U I C
Office of Special Scholarship Programs

NSEP Boren Undergraduate Scholarship


UIC NSEP application deadline: November 19, 2014 National deadline: February 5, 2015

Important Notes: All applicants must be evaluated by UIC review committee prior to final submission. Please contact the Office of Special Scholarship Programs for more information. Applications are only for study outside of Western Europe, Australia and New Zealand. Please refer to website for list of eligible countries. Candidates should be aware that winners are required to 'pay back' their time spent abroad through work for the federal government (please see note below).

Eligibility: Only U.S. citizens are eligible to apply. All study abroad programs proposed must meet UIC standards and must end prior to graduation. All proposals must include the following: language study, an international and national security focus, and study outside of Western Europe, Australia and New Zealand.

In general, candidates should have a good academic career related reason to study in the country they choose. Candidates should also be able to make the international relations/national security link evident in their written proposal.

Description: The National Security Education Program (NSEP) is a unique scholarship opportunity for U.S. undergraduates to study abroad. The NSEP awards scholarships to American students for study of world regions critical to U.S. interests. Scholarships are available for study year round, and students may study for one semester or a full academic year. Award amounts are up to $10,000 for a semester and $20,000 for an academic year, depending on the length of study and expenses associated with the program.

NSEP Scholarship recipients incur a service agreement requiring that they, "enter into an agreement to work in a national security position as a priority in the area of study for which the scholarship was awarded." NSEP is willing to work with students to find ways to fulfill the service requirement.

Recent UIC winner: 2008 - Eugene Liebenson; 2005 - Eugene Choe; 2004 - Eugene Choe; 2003 - Scott Wilson, Brian Richey; 2002 - Jane Jih

Send applications to: see website above; do not send to the Office of Special Scholarship Programs


Our services are only for students at the University of Illinois at Chicago

Email us with questions or to make an appointment

Copyright © 2011 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois
Contact the webmaster

Scholarship Awards


Application Process










Web Links