One of the best ways to stay informed about local events is to read local newspapers. Reading a range of materials strengthens our capabilities for stronger and well informed perspectives on the issues of the day. It is also an important activity in preparing for time abroad.

The links below are preliminary choices. For a more comprehensive list - and one which includes publications in local languages - go to http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/

Make http://studyabroad.uic.edu your home page and keep up with local, national, and international news.

North America

The Chicago Sun-Times http://www.suntimes.com/index/
The Chicago Tribune http://www.chicagotribune.com/
The Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/
The New York Times http://www.nytimes.com/
The Wall Street Journal http://online.wsj.com/public/us/
The Washington Post http://www.washingtonpost.com/
The Toronto Globe and Mail http://www.theglobeandmail.com/

Middle East & West Asia

Al-Ahram Weekly (Cairo) http://weekly.ahram.org.eg/index.htm
Al Jazeera (Doha) http://english.aljazeera.net/HomePage
Daily Star (Beirut) http://www.dailystar.com.lb/home3.asp
Dawn (Karachi) http://www.dawn.com/2006/08/23/index.htm
Jerusalem Post (Jerusalem) http://www.jpost.com/
Jordan Times (Amman) http://www.jordantimes.com
Tehran Times (Tehran) http://www.tehrantimes.com/
Turkish Daily News (Ankara) http://www.turkishdailynews.com.tr/index.php

Asia

India Abroad http://indiaabroad.com/
The Bangkok Post http://www.bangkokpost.net/
The China Daily(Beijing) http://www.chinadaily.com.cn
The Japan Times http://www.japantimes.co.jp/
The South China Morning Post(Hong Kong) http://www.scmp.com/
The Straits Times (Singapore) http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg
The Taipei Times http://www.taipeitimes.com/News/
The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/
The UB Post (Mongolia) http://ubpost.mongolnews.mn/

Pacific

Pacific Islands Report http://pidp.eastwestcenter.org/pireport/
The Sydney Morning Herald http://www.smh.com.au/

Latin America

The Buenos Aires Herald http://www.buenosairesherald.com/

United Kingdom

The Economist http://www.economist.com/
The Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/
The International Herald Tribune http://www.iht.com/pages/index.php
The Times (London) http://www.timesonline.co.uk/


Copyright © 2010 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois