Dean Susan C. Scrimshaw receives the Great Cities Robert Mier Partnership Award from Chancellor David C. Broski

Academic year 1997-98 marked a quarter century since the first class graduated from the School of Public Health, and this anniversary was itself marked by special occasions throughout the year.

The anniversary kick-off took the form of a boat trip aboard the "Jamaica" on Lake Michigan on September 11. One hundred and fifty-five people, including alumni, faculty, students, and staff, enjoyed a buffet dinner and dancing while watching the sun set on Chicagoís spectacular skyline.

Also in September, the Illinois Public Health Association presented the school with the associationís Presidentís Award in recognition of twenty-five years of excellence in public health education.

On October 21, founding Dean Paul Q. Peterson joined Dr. Scrimshaw in hosting a Deansí Reception at Washingtonís Cosmos Club for alumni and friends of the school in the capitol area.

In November at the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association, the school joined forces with the Illinois Public Health Association to sponsor an open house at Indianapolisís Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art. Guests enjoyed browsing through exhibits and the museum shop in addition to socializing with colleagues. The Association of Schools of Public Health used the occasion of the APHA meeting to confer its Recognition Award upon the school for leadership in improving the publicís health through professional and graduate education.

Further awards to the school followed during the winter months. During Decemberís UIC Great Cities Forum, Chancellor David C. Broski presented the school with the Great Cities Robert Mier Partnership Award for outstanding leadership in developing many partnership programs benefitting Chicago. At the annual meeting of the schoolís Alumni Association in March, the associationís Board of Directors gave a plaque to Dean Scrimshaw to commemorate the schoolís twenty-five years of excellence in teaching, research, and service.

The year culminated with a Silver Anniversary Gala held in the Grand Ballroom of the Palmer House Hilton on May 15. Nearly 300 guests were in attendance for an evening of dining, dancing to the UIC Jazz Band, and bidding on items in the silent auction acompanying the event. The evening was an opportunity for the School of Public Health in turn to recognize the leadership and contributions of others. Sheila Lyne, RSM, commissioner of the Chicago Department of Public Health, received the schoolís Public Health Practice Leadership Award while the Community Service Leadership Award went to the Erie Family Health Center.

Dr. Scrimshaw presented SPH Community Partnership Recognition Certificates to Alivio Medical Center, the Early Childhood Division of the Chicago Public Schools, and the Westside Association for Community Action. Honored with SPH Supporter Recognition Certificates were the Pittway Corporation Charitable Foundation, the Otho S.A. Sprague Memorial Institute, and the Paul and Gabriella Rosenbaum Foundation. UIC Provost Elizabeth Hoffman concluded the program by presenting the Chancellorís Recognition Award to founding Dean Paul Q. Peterson.

Funds raised by the gala were earmarked for support of the schoolís scholarship programs and student travel.

H E A L T H   P R O    H O M E |  S P H   H O M E