Convocation ceremonies for the 1998 graduates of the School of Public Health were held on Friday, May 8 at the Chicago Illini Union.

Opening remarks at the convocation were made by Elizabeth Hoffman, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, Sheila Lyne, RSM, commissioner, Chicago Department of Public Health, and John R. Lumpkin, MD, MPH, director, Illinois Department of Public Health. United States Representative Danny K. Davis gave the convocation address. Congressman Davis spoke on current and future challenges facing the public health system in the United States. Remarks on behalf of the class of 1998 were presented by Dale H. Lee.

The Delta Omega Society, a national honorary public health fraternity established to recognize and encourage scholarship and research among those undertaking postbaccalaureate study in public health and to recognize attainment in the field, nominated the following 1998 graduates as new members: Paul Altman; Laura Anderko; Sherry Goldyn; Cathleen Harris; Dale H. Lee; Jeanette Lim; Lori Mathis; Elizabeth Powell; Philip Ricks; Genie Roosevelt; Patricia Tibbs; Stephan Verral; and Sheila Yagmai.

The Alan W. Donaldson Memorial Award, the highest award granted by the School of Public Health to graduating students for academic excellence, qualities of leadership, and community service, was presented to Jeanette Lim.

The Golden Apple Award, given each year to a faculty member chosen by the student body in recognition of outstanding teaching and unusual service to students at the school, was presented to Carol J. Simon, PhD.

A feature at the convocation was the reading aloud by all graduates of the school’s new "Statement of Values." As part of its upcoming reaccreditation process, the school was required to define "the professional public health values, concepts, and ethics to which [it] is committed." The resulting statement (see "School of Public Health Statement of Values") will be read at all future convocations.


H E A L T H   P R O    H O M E |  S P H   H O M E