Chancellor's Cluster Initiative

We are pleased to announce the results from our first set of proposals submitted under the Chancellor's Cluster Initiative to Increase Diversity and the Interdisciplinary Culture at UIC.

Twenty-one proposals were submitted, each of which showed remarkably creative and collaborative thinking. Thank you to everyone who put in the time and effort to make this initiative a success.

This is the first year of the program, which was designed to cultivate diverse academic leadership and enhance the educational experience of our students and the work of our faculty, by broadening the array of backgrounds, ideas and disciplines represented on campus. Each proposal envisions advancing an area of scholarly strength related to UIC's mission through the work of an interdisciplinary, interdepartmental faculty cluster. Funding will support faculty recruitment and scholarly activities over a period of up to five years. The original request for proposals describes the program in greater detail.

The proposals were reviewed by a panel of 14 faculty members from across campus using a rigorous methodology; the final decision was made by us. The following six proposals were chosen for funding:

Diaspora Studies
Principal Investigator: Lynette Jackson

Global Urban Immigration
Principal Investigators: Maria de los Angeles Torres and Maria Krysan

Integrative Neuroscience Initiative
Principal Investigators: Simon Alford, Orly Lazarov, Pauline Maki, David Nyenhuis, and Michael Ragozzino

Middle East and Muslim Societies
Principal Investigator: Norma Claire Moruzzi

The Racialized Body
Principal Investigator: Cynthia Blair

Social Justice and Human Rights Cluster
Principal Investigator: Jennifer Brier and Anna Guevarra

Our hearty congratulations go out to the many individuals involved in creating these superb proposals.

We are also grateful to the members of the review panel, listed below, and to each of the many individuals who collaborated on the 21 proposals. We can proudly look to their efforts as the foundation of a more interdisciplinary culture and a more diverse campus community.


Paula Allen-Meares
John Corbally Presidential Professor

Lon S. Kaufman
Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost

Oct. 2012 update: Cluster Hire Initiative, Year 1, Phase 2 (PDF)

Review Panel Members

Nick Popovich (Co-Chair)
Professor and Head
Department of Pharmacy Administration
College of Pharmacy

Barbara Ransby (Co-Chair)
Interim Vice Provost for Planning and Programs
Professor, Departments of African American Studies, Gender and Women's Studies, and History
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Aixa Alfonso
Visiting Associate Dean, Graduate College
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Mitra Dutta
Interim Vice Chancellor for Research
Distinguished Professor and Department Head
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
College of Engineering

Leon Fink
Distinguished Professor
Department of History
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Stacie Geller
Director, Center for Research on Women and Gender
Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
College of Medicine

Sharon Haar
Associate Professor
School of Architecture
College of Architecture and the Arts

Rosilie Hernandez-Pecoraro
Acting Director, School of Literatures, Cultural Studies and Linguistics
Associate Professor, Department of Hispanic and Italian Studies
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Lewis Hsu
Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
Department of Pediatrics
College of Medicine

Cedric Johnson
Associate Professor
Departments of African American Studies and Political Science
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Kevin Kumashiro
Asian American Studies Program
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Pauline Lipman
Department of Educational Policy Studies
College of Education

Cheryl Nakata
Professor and Head
Department of Managerial Studies
College of Business Administration

Jesus Ramirez-Valles
Division of Community Health Sciences
School of Public Health