Chancellor's Welcome 2012-2013

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

Welcome to the 2012-13 academic year at UIC.

Whether you are a newcomer or a continuing part of the UIC community, you join a vibrant institution of learning. This year, the Times Higher Education began a new worldwide ranking for universities under 50 years old. UIC was ranked the 11th best young university in the world, third best in the United States.

All of you -- our students, faculty, and staff -- are singularly and collectively vital to our upward trajectory. Working together is how we continue to advance the excellence of our research and educational missions, and the contributions we make to our city, state, nation, and the world.

We begin this year with a number of new appointments, including University of Illinois President Robert Easter, and new deans, Michael Mikhail in the College of Business Administration, and Astrida Tantillo in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Dimitri Azar, Dean of the College of Medicine, our nation's largest medical school, and Karen Colley, Dean of the Graduate College, will both mark their second semester this fall. We look forward to their leadership and contributions to the university.

As you settle into your routines, I hope you will take advantage of the Third Annual Chancellor's Lecture and Event Series. The series will feature cultural performances, lectures, and presentations on some of the challenging issues facing our future througout the academic year.

September 1 marks the 30th anniversary of the day UIC was founded by the consolidation of the University of Illinois at Chicago Circle and the University of Illinois Medical Center. We are planning a series of activities to commemorate the birth of what is now a premier public research university located in the great American and global city of Chicago. There will be announcements highlighting different events throughout the year to mark this milestone.

My best wishes to all for an excellent year.


Paula Allen-Meares
John Corbally Presidential Professor