UIC News
Search UIC News
The University of Illinois at Chicago
Current Issue News Section

Sports Section Button
Events Section Button
News Clips Section Button
UICNews Business Items
Contact Page Button

Submit News Page Button

Advertising Page Button

Sign up for UICNEWS email alerts
Resource Guide
current issue


[print version] [email article]

WOW Award winners

WOW Awards
Five staff members are the latest to receive the WOW Award for outstanding service. The award is sponsored by the Office of the Chancellor, UIC Alumni Relations Council and University of Illinois Alumni Association. Anyone on campus can make nominations at wowaward@uic.edu

The winners are:

Andres Miranda
Physical Plant

Blythe Hiss
Senior information specialist
Disability and Human Development

Elizabeth Thomson
Interim director
Gender & Sexuality Center

Evelyn Haynes
Dental assistant II
College of Dentistry

Grant Dannels
Research programmer
College of Nursing

Photos: Julie Jaidinger


Juan Carlos Campuzano, professor of physics, was awarded the 2011 Oliver E. Buckley Prize in Condensed Matter Physics, one of the oldest and most prestigious annual honors presented by the American Physical Society.

Campuzano was cited “for innovations in angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy, which advanced the understanding of the cuprate superconductors, and transformed the study of strongly correlated electronic systems.”

He will share the $10,000 prize with Peter Johnson of the Brookhaven National Laboratory and Zhi-Xun Shen of Stanford University.

The award will be presented in Dallas next March at the society’s annual meeting.

John Baldwin, professor emeritus of mathematics, statistics and computer science, was awarded the Association for Symbolic Logic’s Shoenfield Prize for expository writing for his book Categoricity (American Mathematical Society University Lecture Series, 2009).

The Shoenfield prize is given every three years for an outstanding book published in the nine years preceding the award. David Marker, professor and head of mathematics, statistics and computer science, shared the inaugural award in 2007.

Ryan Finkenbine, professor and chair of psychiatry and behavioral medicine at the College of Medicine at Peoria, received the first Trailblazer Award from the Tri-County chapter of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill.

He was honored for his outreach in psychiatric education and his successful efforts to develop a residency training program in psychiatry, which begins in July 2011 in collaboration with the College of Medicine at Peoria and Methodist Medical Center.

The UIC chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars received the Gold Star Award, given to the society’s most active and engaged chapters.

To receive the award, chapters must hold an induction ceremony for new members, establish a student mentoring program, hold campuswide events to support the organization’s integrity initiative, hold a campus membership recruitment drive and work with a campus office for a chapter event.

The award, which includes a $250 chapter scholarship, was presented at the society’s leadership summit last month.

Orbert Davis, director of jazz studies and clinical associate professor of music, will receive the Arts Alliance Illinois Arts Legend Award Nov. 3.

Davis, a trumpeter, composer, arranger and conductor, is co-founder and artistic director of the Chicago Jazz Philharmonic.

His score for the WTTW-TV documentary “DuSable to Obama” was recorded as an album that features Davis and fellow UIC music faculty Nicole Mitchell, Ari Brown, Stewart Miller and Ernie Adams. The CD, which will be released early next year on his 3Sixteen record label, will be a donor incentive for PBS pledge drives across the country.

Creasie Finney Hairston, dean of the Jane Addams College of Social Work, was inducted into the West Virginia All-Black Schools Sports and Academic Hall of Fame Sept. 17 in Charleston, W.Va.

Hairston, who was honored as an alumna of Park Central High School and Bluefield State College in Bluefield, W.Va., received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award was presented by her son, Richard Hairston, an ophthalmologist in Tampa.



Michael J. Anderson, director of choral and vocal studies and conductor of the UIC choirs, was named president of the International Federation for Choral Music.

The federation aids the formation of choral groups, scholarships, exchange programs for conductors and choral groups in developing countries, and international choral events.

Cheryl Nakata, professor of marketing, was appointed to the editorial review board of the Journal of International Business Studies.

Maxine Brown, associate director of the Electronic Visualization Laboratory, was elected to a one-year term as president of the executive committee of the Great Lakes Consortium for Petascale Computation.

The consortium, managed by offices at the Urbana-Champaign campus, brings together educational institutions and national research laboratories to facilitate widespread and effective use of petascale computing. This includes the “Blue Waters” system starting in 2011, which will be capable of delivering sustained performance exceeding one petaflop — or one quadrillion floating point operations — per second for scientific and engineering applications.

Luisa DiPietro, professor of periodontics and director of the Center for Wound Healing and Tissue Regeneration in the College of Dentistry, was appointed to the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

The council, which meets three times a year, conducts the second level of peer review for research and research training grant applications to the institute. Members serve four-year terms.

David Gulley, assistant vice chancellor for research, was appointed to the Mayor’s Committee on Technology Infrastructure.

The 20-member committee, which includes representatives from IIT, University of Chicago, Argonne National Laboratory and corporations such as Google, Lightbank, Groupon, Motorola and Abbott Biotech Ventures, will advise the city on meeting the tech industry’s short- and long-term needs for space.

Jorge Kattah, professor and head of neurology in the College of Medicine at Peoria, was awarded membership in the Barany Society, an organization dedicated to research of the vestibular system.



Janet Smith, associate professor of urban planning and policy, testified before the House Financial Services Committee last month in support of the Inclusive Home Design Act introduced by U.S. Rep. Jan Schakowsky, D-Ill.

Smith conducted a study for the National Council on Disability, released last February.

Michael Pagano, dean of the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs and interim dean of the College of Business Administration, spoke at a Federal Reserve Bank conference in Atlanta last month on the impact of the real estate crisis on public finance.

Pagano was an expert panelist Sept. 23 at a Chicago Council on Global Affairs event, “No Free Money: Is the Privatization of Infrastructure in the Public Interest?”

Browse Back Issues

Go to UIC Main Site Visit the UIC News Bureau Check news from UIUC Go to Job Guide

RSS Subscribe

Follow UIC News
Facebook Twitter