Social Justice Fellows Program

Nobel Laureate Jody Williams Accepts a Fellowship at UIC

I am pleased to announce the establishment of the Jane Addams Distinguished Social Justice Fellows Program. Nobel Peace Laureate Jody Williams, who spoke at the 12th Nobel Peace Laureate Summit held at the UIC Forum in April, will honor us as the first guest as part of this initiative and she will make extended visits to the campus in October, February and April.

Jody Williams served as the founding coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL) in 1992. In an unprecedented cooperative effort with governments, UN bodies and the International Committee of the Red Cross, she served as a chief strategist and spokesperson for the ICBL, which she developed from two non-governmental organizations (NGOs) with a staff of one - herself - to an international powerhouse of 1,300 NGOs in ninety countries. Ms. Williams was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997. At that time, she became the tenth woman - and third American woman (the first being Jane Addams) - in its almost hundred-year history to receive the Prize.

I want to extend my gratitude to Dean of the Jane Addams College of Social Work, Creasie Finney Hairston, Professor Barbara Ransby, and Director of Hull House Museum, in the College of Architecture and the Arts, Lisa Lee, for their inspiration, leadership and support in developing the Jane Addams Distinguished Social Justice Fellows Program.

This year, as we celebrate the 30th Anniversary of the founding of the University of Illinois at Chicago, it is fitting that we remember our origins and our mission, so indelibly tied to Jane Addams and her own good work and tremendous impact on our society, by establishing the Social Justice Fellows Program named after Jane Addams, and highlight the importance UIC places on her values by bringing Jody Williams to campus.

I look forward to providing details of all the upcoming events related to this initiative.

Paula Allen-Meares
Vice President of the University of Illinois
Chancellor of the University of Illinois at Chicago
John Corbally Presidential Professor