News Archive: March - January 2011

Celebrating the College of Business Administration

Chancellor Allen-Meares joined those "Celebrating the CBA" for an evening that brought together students, faculty, alumni and donors to meet, network and celebrate the accomplishments of the College of Business Administration's students and alumni.

Recognized during the evening were:

  • 2011 Alumni Leadership Academy Inductees: Kevin Desouza, BS 2000, PhD 2006; James Flanagan, BS 1978; Marion Gajek, BS 1974; Rodrigo Garcia, MBA 2009; John Scholl, BS 1992
  • Appreciation Award: Ralph Westfall
  • UIAA Alumni Loyalty Award: Rita Patel
  • Faculty Award: George Roe

Pictured: Chancellor Allen-Meares with Al and Sandy Grossman, donors and sponsors of the Dorothy L. Huck Memorial Scholarship, an annual scholarship given to three CBA undergraduates who are graduates of Roger C. Sullivan High School, Chicago, IL, and demonstrate academic excellence and leadership.

Stacie GellerCelebrating Woman of the Year

Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares joined in honoring UIC's Woman of the Year, Stacie Geller, director of the Center for Research on Women and Gender, director of the National Center of Excellence in Women’s Health, and professor of obstetrics and gynecology.

“It has always been my passion to help women and girls as much as I can,” Geller said as she accepted the award.

Stacie“I do it for women all over the world, and also for myself. It feels good to know I’m making a difference.” In her recent work outside the U.S., Geller was installed as Development Queen Mother of the Manso Nkwanta Traditional Area in Ghana. The Queen Mother and King of Manso Nkwanta adorned Stacie with Kente cloth, gold plated jewelry, and gave her a stool. She is now known in the area as Nana Akosua Kannin I. The ceremony included traditional dancers, singers and the traditional council of chiefs were present. The King asked Stacie to contribute to the community by helping to improve education and decrease teenage pregnancy.

Chancellor Allen-Meares and Stacie GellerEstablished in 1992, the Woman of the Year award is sponsored by the Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of Women to honor a UIC woman who has consistently worked on women's issues beyond the call of duty and who is an exemplary role model.

Pictured: Top: Stacie Geller; Middle: Stacie Geller and King Nana Bi-Kusi Appiah II; Bottom: Chancellor Allen-Meares and Stacie Geller.

Durbin Encourages Families to Use Tuition Tax Credit

Chancellor Allen-Meares joined University President Michael Hogan in welcoming U.S. Senator Dick Durbin to UIC to remind families to use the federal tax credit for tuition. The American Opportunity Tax Credit, intended to help students pursue dreams of higher education in financially stressed times, has been claimed by fewer than half of eligible Illinois families, costing them more than $1 billion, said Durbin.

Durbin was also joined by several UIC students, including new student trustee Kenneth Thomas, who spoke about the importance of financial assistance in pursing their dreams of a college education. more > >

Pictured, L-R: Donnette Holloway, Kenneth Thomas, Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares, President Michael Hogan, Sen. Dick Durbin, Lucy and Juridia Salinas, Ajay Rao and Kelly Wells.

Recognizing Black History Makers

Chancellor Allen-Meares and Michael ToneyChancellor Paula Allen-Meares and Michael Toney, executive director of the Urban Health Program, were among UIC faculty and staff attending a reception honoring past and current winners of the Black History Makers award. Allen-Meares and Toney are previous winners of the award, which is sponsored by the Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Blacks.

This year's winners are David Stovall, associate professor of African American studies and educational policy studies; Barbara Brown, research specialist in health science in the department of psychiatry; and students Aunica Jones, Brian Wright and Kenneth Vasser.

Lecture Series features Illinois Report 2011

Chancellor Allen-Meares and Robert RichRobert Rich, director of the Institute for Government and Public Affairs, presented an overview of The Illinois Report 2011, the institute’s annual assessment of the “state of the state,” before a full house in Student Center West for the latest offering in the Chancellor’s Lecture Series.

“The time is right for progress, but progress will be difficult to achieve without vision, fortitude and perseverance,” Rich said. more > >

Pictured: Robert Rich, director of the Institute for Government and Public Affairs, and Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares at the Chancellor's Lecture Series

Grand Re-opening of Engineering Labs in SEL

Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares joined U of I President Michael Hogan, engineering dean Peter Nelson and ITW chairman and CEO David Speer to formally dedicate three renovated College of Engineering labs. The labs were renovated with the help of a $1.1 million gift from Glenview-based ITW Inc., formerly Illinois Tool Works. Renovation will begin next term on a fourth lab used by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. more > >

Chancellor Allen-Meares, President Hogan, Dean Peter Nelson and James Wooten, Jr.

Pictured L-R: James Wooten Jr. of ITW, who is a UIC grad, College of Engineering Dean Peter Nelson, Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares, ITW CEO David Speer and U of I President Michael Hogan.

Chancellor Allen-Meares and Maureen ParksDiversity Discussion

About 100 faculty and staff came to the UIC Forum Jan. 25 for a “conversation on diversity” led by U of I President Michael Hogan.

The meeting, sponsored by Allen-Meares and the offices of Access and Equity and Diversity, marked the first time a U of I president has participated in such a gathering at UIC.

Pictured: UIC Chancellor Paula Allen-Meares (right) and Maureen Parks, assistant vice president for human resources. more > >

Chancellor's Breakfast with Faculty

Chancellor Allen-MearesAt her most recent breakfast meeting with faculty, Chancellor Allen-Meares met with the following faculty: Sarah Dunn, Architecture; Lisa Freeman, English; Hannah Higgins, Art History; Stacey Horn, Educational Psychology; Norma Lopez-Reyna, Special Education; Karen Mossberger, Public Administration; Shane Phillips, Physical Therapy; Glen Schumock, Pharmacy Practice; Alan Schwartz, Medical Education; Robert Somol, Architecture; Jennifer Tobin, Classics & Mediterranean Studies; Rachel Weber, Urban Planning & Policy; Peggy Wheeler, Anesthesiology.