THE LATIN AMERICAN AND LATINO STUDIES PROGRAM
Ours is a unique multi-disciplinary program that compares and combines the study of Latin America and Latino communities in the United States.

People


Amalia Pallares
Director of LALS
Associate Professor of LALS and Political Science
1108A BSB
312-413-3773
2nd office: 1513 UH - Dept. of LALS
amalia@uic.edu
Interests:
Social movements
Ethnicity and race in Latin America and in the U.S, Rural politics, Political protest, Political change


Xóchitl Bada
Assistant Professor of LALS
1519 UH
312-996-9144
xbada@uic.edu
Interests:
Immigrant access to political and social rights, Black-Latino relations, Transnational communities, Rural development, Civic participation in Mexico and the United States


Christopher Boyer
Associate Professor of LALS and History
1021 UH
312-413-1216
crboyer@uic.edu
Interests:
Mexican history, Environmental history, Latin American Studies


Simone Buechler
Assistant Professor of LALS
1521 UH
312-413-5340
buechler@uic.edu

 

Alex E. Chavez
Visiting Assistant Professor of LALS
1509 UH
312-996-7930
alex.e.chavez.e@gmail.com
Interests:
U.S.–Mexico borderlands anthropology; Ethnography; Transnational migrant
cultural production; Affect and everyday life; Ethnomusicology


Ralph Cintron
Associate Professor of LALS and English
2012 UH
312-413-2736
rcintron@uic.edu
Interests:
Rhetorical studies, Ethnography, Urban theory, Theories of transnationalism, Political theory, Social theory


Nilda Flores-González
Associate Professor of LALS and Sociology
4160 BSB
312-996-5373
nilda@uic.edu
Interests:
Race and ethnicity, Identity, Youth, Education and U.S. Latinos


Elena Gutierrez
Associate Professor of LALS and Gender & Women Studies
1224 UH
312-996-9039
elgut@uic.edu
Interests:
Latina/o reproductive and sexual health politics, Feminism, Social activism and Chicana/o Studies



Joel Palka
Associate Professor of LALS and Anthropology
3148-B BSB
312-413-5985
jpalka@uic.edu
Interests:
Maya archaeology, Maya art and hieroglyphic writing, Historical archaeology, Ethnohistory, Cross-cultural interaction and social change


María de los Angeles Torres
Professor of LALS and Executive Director of IUPLR
1517 UH
LALS 312-996-4716
IUPLR 312-413-7871
torresma@uic.edu
Interests:
Latino politics, Latin American political thought, Latin American revolutionary thought Cuba: the island and its exiles, Latin American politics, Diasporas: gender and politics The politics of childhood, Democracy and multiculturalism


Cristian A. Roa-De-La-Carrera
Associate Professor of LALS and Spanish
1523 UH
312-996-2279
roa@uic.edu
Interests:
Colonial writing in Latin America, early modern Spanish imperialism,
conquest and colonization, missionary enterprises, ethnographic discourses


Salomé Aguilera Skvirsky
Assistant Professor of LALS and Spanish
1509 UH
312-413-7930
skvirsky@uic.edu
Interests:
Latin American Cinema, film theory, documentary film, ethnographic film, race and representation, the racial melodrama


Javier Villa-Flores
Associate Professor of LALS and History
1511 UH
312-996-7270
javier@uic.edu
Interests:
Religion, Colonialism, Performance studies, The social history of language in colonial Mexico

 

 

 

Affiliates

 

John Jairo Betancur
Associate Professor
Department of Urban Planning and Policy
College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs
(312) 996- 2125
betancur@uic.edu


Brian S. Bauer
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Anthropology
(312) 413-3731
bsb@uic.edu


Rosa Cabrera
Adjunct Lecturer and Director
Rafael Cintrón-Ortiz Latino Cultural Center
(312) 996-3095
cabrerar@uic.edu


Joaquín Chávez
Assistant Professor
Department of History
(312) 996-3141
chavezj1@uic.edu


Teresa L. Córdova
Professor and Director
Great Cities Institute
College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs (CUPPA)
(312) 355-3803
tcordova@uic.edu


Alan J. Detlaff
Associate Professor
Jane Addams College of Social Work
(312) 996-0044
aland@uic.edu


Molly Ann Doane
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
(312) 413-0653
mdoane@uic.edu


Alexandra Filindra
Assistant Professor
Department of Political Science
aleka@uic.edu


Lorena García
Assistant Professor
Department of Sociology, and by (courtesy) Gender & Women's Studies and Latin American and Latino Studies
(312) 413-3759
lorena@uic.edu


Sharon Danielle Göpfert
Clinical Assistant Professor of Theatre Movement
Department of Theatre and Music
(312) 996-6881
sharong@uic.edu


Sandra M. Magaña
Professor
Department of Disability and Human Development
(312) 355-4537
Maganas@uic.edu


Silvia Malagrino
Professor
Photography
School of Art and Design
libraes@uic.edu


Steven Marsh
Associate Professor of Spanish Literature & Film
Department of Hispanic and Italian Studies
(312) 996-5845
marshws@uic.edu


Virginia E. Miller
Associate Professor, Chair
Department of Art History
(312) 413-2467
vem@uic.edu


P. Zitlali Morales
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education, Performing Arts and Social Work
(312) 996-8144
zitlali@uic.edu


Dianna Niebylski
Professor
Department of Hispanic and Italian Studies
(312) 996-4582
dcn@uic.edu


Kim Potowski
Associate Professor
Hispanic Linguistics
Department of Hispanic & Italian Studies
(312) 996-8524
kimpotow@uic.edu


Pamela Anne Quiroz
Professor
Sociology & Educational Policy Studies
College of Education
(312) 413-9185
paquiroz@uic.edu


Aria Razfar
Associate Professor
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education
312-413-8387
arazfar@uic.edu


Anna C. Roosevelt
Professor
Department of Anthropology
(312) 996-3046
amazonia@uic.edu


Margarita Saona
Associate Professor
Hispanic and Italian Studies
School of Literatures, Cultural Studies, and
Linguistics
(312) 996-5222
saona@uic.edu


Nik Theodore
Associate Professor
Department of Urban Planning and Policy
College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs
(312) 996-8378
theodore@uic.edu


Latin American and Latino Studies Program (MC 219)
1525 University Hall
601 S. Morgan Street
Chicago, IL 60607-7115
Last Modified: Thursday, 27-Feb-2014 11:57:03 CST