Images of U I C UIC logo and link

Back to UIC home button



The Chancellor's Academic Professional Excellence Award (CAPE) acknowledges the demonstrated excellence of Academic Professional employees (APs). The CAPE Award honors the contributions of individual staff members and encourages the professional growth and achievement of APs at UIC. Academic Professionals are those employees on academic appointment whose positions are designated by the President and the Chancellor as meeting specialized administrative, professional, or technical needs. APs encompass staff other than the ranks of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, and instructor.


The deadline for receipt of nominations and all supporting credentials is 12:00 p.m. on Friday, July 1, 2011. The CAPE Awards will be presented in November, at a reception as part of UIC Employee Recognition Week.

CAPE 2011 Description Word file Last Updated: 5/2/2011
Nominating Form for CAPE Word file Last Updated: 5/2/2011
Other UIC Employee Recognition Awards


Each winner of the CAPE Award receives a $1,000 permanent salary increase, a certificate and a pin. The names of the winners are added to the CAPE plaque on the first floor of University Hall. In addition, a $2,000 one-time cash award is given to each recipient.


If you have any questions, please contact William S. Bike, Chair, 2011 CAPE Selection Committee (, 6-8495).

Previous Chancellor Academic Professional Excellence Award Recipients

  • 2010
    • Tom Moss
      First-Year Writing Program
    • Debra Simpson
      African American Academic Network
    • Karen Su
      Asian American Resource and Cultural Center
    • Stacie Williams
      Honors College
  • 2009
    • Nora Bonnin
      Office of International Affairs
    • Ivone De Jesus
      Latino Cultural Center
    • James Hammerschmidt
      Office of International Services
    • Chris Mollet
      Office of Healthcare Management
  • 2008
    • Kimberly Clark
      Liberal Arts & Sciences
    • Erin Emerson
      Department of Psychiatry
    • William Rodriguez
      Office of Dean of Student Affairs
    • Marilyn Willis
      Institute for Health Research and Policy
  • 2007
    • Christina Copeland
      Child and Family Development Center
    • Heather Imrie
      Campus Advocacy Networ
    • Julie Kong
      Public Health
    • Josephine Volpe
      Office of Special Scholarship Program
  • 2006
    • Florencio Diaz
      Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
    • Kevin O’Grady
      Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery
    • Beth Powers
      Honor College
    • Carolyn Williams
  • 2005
    • Kari A. Dueball
      Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
    • Mary J. Hayden
    • Vincent A. Paglione
      Architecture and the Arts
    • Albert J. Schorsch III
      College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs
  • 2004
    • James E. Artwohl
      Biologic Resources Laboratory
    • Terri G. Kaisling
      Craniofacial Ambulatory Service
    • Janet I. Madia
      Honors College
    • Jennifer M. Rowan
      Office of the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
  • 2003
    • William S. Bike
      College of Dentistry
    • Gregory S. Pittsley
      Office of the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
    • Jill A. Tarzian Sorenson
      Office of Technology Management
    • James J. Wiet
      Energy Resources Center
  • 2002
    • Barbara A. Schechtman
      James Addams College of Social Work
    • Rebecca E. Gordon
      Office of Women’s Affairs
    • Michael J. Chimack
      Energy Resources Center
    • Byron E. Helms
      Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
  • 2001
    • Brooke Bergan
      Publication Services
    • David L. Gulley
      Office of Technology Management
    • Diane Rudall
      Center for Molecular Biology of Oral Diseases
    • Luis R. Vargas
      Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
  • 2000
    • Athanasios D. Bournakis
      Energy Resources Center
    • Rodrigo Carraminana
      Latin American Culture Center
    • Julie E. Kaufman
      Office of the Vce Chancellor for Research
    • Dace Kezbers
  • 1999
    • Caryn A. Bills
      Office of the Ombudsperson
    • John R. Cepek
      Publication Services
    • Margaret A. Lunde
      Health Policy Administration
    • Mark Valentino
  • 1998
    • Thomas E. Glenn
    • Rosemary Mango
      Division of Specialized Care for Children
    • Anthony J. Parisi
      College of Medicine, Peoria
    • June Reich
      Registration and Records
    • Celina Sima
  • 1997
    • Judith L. Baxter
      Math, Statistics and Computer Science
    • Darlene Duke Crawford
      Counseling Center
    • Jeffrey D. Fortman
      Biological Resources Center
    • William D. Hane
    • Hilda Lopez
      Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
  • 1996
    • Robert L. Burger
    • Arlene Norsym
    • Karen Quinn
      Academic Center for Excellence
    • Barbara Zusman
      Data Resources and Institutional Analysis
  • 1995
    • Scott S. Bumgartner
    • Patricia A. Conway
      Office of the Vice Chancellor for Researc
    • Carla Knorowski
      College of Liberal Arts and Science
    • John McBride
      Hospital Pharmacy Services
  • 1994
    • Kathleen I. Collins
      Early Outreach Program
    • Marty Gatzman
      Institute for Mathematics and Sciences Education
    • Amy Levant
      Graduate College
  • 1993
    • Catherine Brod
      Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
    • Ruth Bentley
      Counseling Center
    • Jo Campbell
      Campus Housing
  • 1992
    • Nancy Butler
      Business Administration
    • Jalane Davidso
    • John Costa
    • Elizabeth Vandercook
      External Affairs and Special Programs
  • 1991
    • Paul Michaud
    • Jane Whitener
      Conferences and Institute
    • Vincent Paglione
      Architecture and the Arts and Urban Planning
  • 1990
    • Maxine Brown
      Electronic Visualization Lab
    • Mary K. Dresler
      Honors College
    • John C. Russell
  • 1989
    • Ethel Caldwell
      Early Outreach Program
    • Marilyn J. Carlander
      Prevention Research Center
    • Leonard Ramirez
      Latin American Recruitment and Educational Services
Last Updated: May 16, 2011
Contact the webmaster