Janice Watkins Award
For Distinguished Civil Service

Janice Watkins was hit by an automobile and tragically killed after leaving work on the evening of December 19, 1974.  As a supervisor in the Insurance Office, a past president of the Nonacademic Employees’ Office, a past president of the Nonacademic Employees’ Council, and an active member of several University committees, she was known to virtually all of the campus community.

For years, the Nonacademic Employees’ Council has asked that some kind of recognition be given for distinguished civil service.  Upon the death of Janice Watkins, the council requested that the University her passing with a suitable memorial.

It was decided to institute the Award for Distinguished Civil Service as a memorial to Janice and her dedication to her coworkers, fellow employees, and the total University community.

The design for the award is based on three interlocking components signifying the unity of students, faculty, and staff who make up the whole of the University of Illinois at Chicago.  Each individual group is an inseparable and integral part of UIC, and the circular design reinforces this.

As an integral part of the University, the services of the nonacademic employees keep the campus running in the most basic and necessary ways.  In addition to dealing with the huge amount of paperwork, their duties include food service, utility service, health service, landscaping, safety, repair work, and much more.  Just as there are outstanding students and faculty who are identified by their extraordinary humanity, conscientiousness, and dedication, there are nonacademic employees who stand as exceptional people.

Janice Watkins Award Winners 1979 - 2012


  1. To bring to the attention of the University community the achievements of its basic but less visible group;
  2. To show that support staff can and do demonstrate dedication to people as well as to required task;
  3. To give to exceptional support staff the gratitude of the University and the recognition of their peers in the form of the JANICE WATKINS AWARD.