Janice Watkins Award Criteria
For Distinguished Civil Service

The award will be given to civil service support staff employees whom:

  • Exhibit a pleasant, warm demeanor, are very cooperative; are well-informed. 
  • Provide willing assistance to others.
  • Perform their required duties completely with diligence and dedication.
  • Provide excellent customer service.
  • Extend themselves beyond the performance of their regular duties and participate in campus and community activities or organizations such as: Chancellor's committees, hospitals, school, church volunteer, social service work, child care, violence prevention, food drives, helping the youth, elderly, mentoring programs, serves as a role model, mentor etc.
  • Exhibit genuine care for their fellow human being.
  • Respectfully reflect a positive image as an UIC ambassador.
  • Be currently employed on campus or retired or disabled. Deceased former employees are also eligible to be nominated for the award.
  • Be willing to accept the award. (If the honoree is deceased, the family will be contacted concerning acceptance.)
  • If the nominee is a current UIC employee, he or she must be in full-time support staff position with at least the equivalent of two full-time years of employment at the time of their nomination. Service accumulated during a past appointment at other U of I campuses will be considered in the total service time.

A minimum of three supporting letters of recommendation are required for consideration of the award.  For each supporting letter, please let us know your relationship to the nominee.   These may include, but are not limited to the employee’s department head, coworker(s), supervisor, former supervisor, pastor or the leader of affiliated organization(s), etc.  All nominees must be classified civil service support staff employees. Classifications will be verified. Please submit the nomination form with the minimum of letters of support. All letters of support and recommendations must be typed and signed. Nominations are not considered complete if the minimum three letters have not been submitted by 12:00pm of June 27, 2014.

These nomination forms and letters of recommendation are given to a screening committee consisting of support staff to review for eligibility. When these are received, the committee selects a maximum of three candidates who are qualified to receive this award. They present the results to the Staff Advisory Council and Human Resources for review. The Council forwards to the Chancellor for final approval.

The Chancellor presents the Janice Watkins Award for Distinguished Civil Service each year at a ceremony held at UIC in November.

You may mail the completed form and letters to Mariola Alarcon, Corresponding Secretary, S.A.C., 227 SCE M/C 117, 750 S. Halsted Street, Chicago, IL 60607.  Scanned copies are acceptable and can be emailed to The nomination form and the minimum three typed and signed recommendation letters must be received by, June 26, 2015, at 12:00 p.m., no exceptions.

2015 Janice Watkins Nomination Form

Previous Janice Watkins Award Winners