Department of Pharmacy Administration

College of Pharmacy

Upcoming Events

The Department sponsors seminars and other events for faculty, students, trainees, staff, alumni and other interested induviduals. For a listing of the upcoming events and other announcements please connect with us on  

Faculty and Student Highlights




Edith Nutescu Appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors for Pharmacotherapy:

Dr. Edith Nutescu, was recently appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors for Pharmacotherapy Publications, Inc (PPI). Pharmacotherapy: The Journal of Human Pharmacology and Drug Therapy is the official journal of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. Dr. Nutescu was appointed as Chairman of the Board for a 2-year term which she will assume in January 2015.


Stephanie Crawford Receives Award from USP:

Dr. Stephanie Crawford is co-recipient of the 2014 United States Pharmacopeia Convention (USP) Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Standards-setting Process. The U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention is a scientific nonprofit organization that sets standards for the identity, strength, quality, and purity of medicines, food ingredients, and dietary supplements manufactured, distributed and consumed worldwide. Other awardees pictured are Yana Mille (FDA) and Thomas Reinders (VCU).



Dima Qato Receives Award from American Public Health Association:

Dr. Qato’s paper “Drug-Alcohol Interactions Among Older Adults in the U.S.” - was selected for Honorable Mention for the 2014 James G. Zimmer New Investigator Research Award. The award was given by the APHA Aging & Public Health Section and the Section Award Committee, and was presented at the APHA Aging and Public Health Section Awards Ceremony on Monday, November 17, 2014


Simon Pickard Elected Chair of the Executive Committee of EuroQol:

Dr. Simon Pickard, has been elected to the 2-year term of chair of the Executive Committee of the EuroQol Group. The EuroQol group is an international association of researchers that focus on the EQ-5D, a measure generating a single index value for health status with considerable potential for use in health care evaluation. The Executive Committee is comprised of nine members, who are elected by the members of the EuroQol Group. For more information click here


Glen Schumock Receives ASHP Foundation Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature:

Dr. Glen Schumock has been selected as recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Foundation’s 2014 Award for Sustained Contributions to the literature. This award is made to an individual who has a track record for publishing relevant articles of consistently high quality and impact in the primary, peer-reviewed, biomedical literature over a minimum of fifteen years. The award is presented at the ASHP Midyear Meeting.



Henri Manasse Awarded Henry Milton Whelpley Sesquicentennial Medal:

Dr. Manasse was awarded the Henry Milton Whelpley Sesquicentennial Medal as part of the 150th Anniversary Convocation of the St. Louis College of Pharmacy (SLCOP) on November 12. Dr. Whelpley was a1883 graduate and Dean of the SLCOP from 1904-1926. The Henry Milton Whelpley Sesquicentennial Medal was one of three commemorative sesquicentennial medals to honor the meritorious accomplishments of three nationally renowned pharmacy leaders.


Carl Asche Receives the Outstanding Research Award from the UIC College of Medicine – Peoria:

Dr. Asche has been named the “Outstanding Researcher” for 2014 by the UIC College of Medicine – Peoria. The award was presented at the 2014 Celebration of Excellence Ceremony November 12, 2014..