2012 Research Day

2012 Research Day

This year's event was a great success, with over 80 trainees presenting their research. Great number of our alumni returned to the College to judge the posters and we had also strong participation by judges from industry. The day's seminar was presented by Dr. William Fenical on the topic of “Marine Microbial Anticancer Agents Select for Novel Intracellular Targets”.


To see images from the 2012 Research Day, please click on the photo.

Keynote speaker Dr. Fenical (center) is pictured with Drs. Swanson (R) and Murphy.

Poster Competition Winners

Pre-doctoral Category
1st place
Isaac Schiefer
Design, Synthesis, Optimization, and Evaluation of Epoxide Based Calpain Inhibitors as Preclinical Candidates for Alzheimer's Disease Therapy
Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy
Thatcher Lab

2nd place
Tsui-Ting Ho
Expression of microRNAs-135b and -196b in response to cellular stress in leukemia cells
Biopharmaceutical Sciences
Beck Lab

3rd place
Melanie Köllmer
Maintenance and Controlled Differentiation of Human Mesenchymal Stem Cells within Superporous Hydrogels
Biopharmaceutical Sciences
Gemeinhart Lab

Postdoctoral Category
1st place
Adam Bress, PharmD
The additional effect of NAD(P)H dehydrogenase, quinone 1 (NQO1) genotype on warfarin dose requirements in a racially diverse population
Pharmacy Practice
Cavallari Lab

2nd place
Shelby King, PhD
Transformation of Normal Ovarian Surface Epithelium by Oxidative Stress Requires Akt Upregulation and Activation
Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy
Burdette Lab

3rd place
Lauren Mashburn-Warren, PhD
A trans-acting element is required for the activation of an important virulence factor in Streptococcus pyogenes
Center for Pharmaceutical Biotechnology
Federle Lab

AAPS Student Choice Award
May Fern Toh
Biological Characterization of non-steroidal progestins from botanicals
Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy
Burdette Lab

Graduate Student Award Ceremony

This year,we were able to give out over $25,000 in Scholarships and Awards. For complete listing, download the program here.

Vahlteich Award

Dr. Greg Thatcher, chair of this year Vahlteich selection committee, introduced and presented 2012 Vahlteich Awards to two faculty recipients: Dr. Xiaolong He and Dr. Brian Murphy. For more information, go here.

Sister Margaret Wright Graduate Award

Dr. Surrey Walton, on behalf of Sister Margaret Wright, presented the 2012 Award to the COP Pharmacy Administration alumna, Dr. Swu-Jane Lin.