Research News

Facts and Figures


For the past 5+ years, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy has consistently ranked the UIC College of Pharmacy within the top 5 (out of 120 surveyed) colleges of pharmacy in the nation, when measured by sponsored research funding. As can be seen in the chart on the right, National Institutes of Health provide the most external funds, with other major contributors being Department of Defense, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, National Science Foundation, and American Cancer Society.

In fiscal year 2013 (7/1/12-6/30/13), total research sponsored program expenditures in the College were over $15M, which places the College among the top 5 colleges (out of 20 ranked ) within the University of Ilinois at Chicago, for the 5th year in a row. Out of the 155 UIC departments included in the FY2013 research expenditures report, all the College departments ranked within the top 45 with regard to research expenditures. The department of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy was rated as number 13 within UIC. For more details, visit Grants&Contracts website.

Newly Honored

Dr. Alexander Mankin has been named as a 2014 Fellow for the American Academy of Microbiology. Fellows of the Academy are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

Dr. Joanna Burdette is a recipient of the 2013 UIC Researcher of the Year Rising Star award. The Rising Star award is given to 5 UIC early career researchers who have demonstrated outstanding promise to become future leaders in their area of expertise.

Dr. Judy Bolton was named the 2013 UIC Woman of the Year by the UIC Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of Women. This annual award honors a UIC woman who has consistently worked on women's issues beyond the call of duty and who is an exemplary role model. See her profile and the list of previous awardees.

Newly Funded

Dr. Mike Federle and Dr. Terry Moore received CBC HTS awards for their projects “Signal Jamming of Bacterial Communication: An HTS Approach” and “Inhibition of Cystationine G Lysase as a Therapeutic Approach for Relief of Sleep Disorder Breathing”, respectively.

Dr. Debra Tonetti received the Cancer Center 2014 Pilot Award for her project “Establishment of a relevant breast cancer pre-clinical model: patient-derived xenografts”.

Dr. Terry Moore received an award from AACP for project “Tucked” Stapled Peptides for Estrogen Receptor/Coactivator Interaction.

Dr. Seungpyo Hong is a subcontract PI on Alex's Lemonade Stand award for project “Development of microRNA-Nanoparticles to Treat Childhood Acute Leukemia Carrying MLL Rearrangements”.

Dr. Kristen Goliak received an award from AgeOptions for project “Medication Monitoring & Safety in Older Adults: A Community-Based Educational Outreach Program”.

Dr. Michael Johnson and his U. of Chicago collaborator, Dr. Robert Daum received the CBC Catalyst Award for a project “A Novel Antimicrobial Strategy Against Methicillin-Resistant S Aureus (MRSA)” with a start date in September 2013.

Dr. Richard van Breemen received R01 grant from NIH NCCAM. His project, “Rapid Identification of Active Agents and Metabolomics of Botanical Supplements” started in August 2013 and will run for five years.

Dr. Pavel Petukhov received R21 grant from NIH NIAID. This two year project, “Discovery of Novel Anti-HBV Compounds Targeting Host Factors” has a start date of September 2013.

COP Faculty on two research teams secured funding for the OVCR Ignite Award. Drs. Monsheel Sodhi, Jeffrey Bishop and Bernard Santarsiero received funding for their project “Launching a UIC Brain Tissue Repository for Investigations of Psychiatric Disorders”. Dr. Chun-Tao Che is a part of a team on project “Suppression of inflammatory responses by cell extract derived from specific Arabidopsis thaliana antioxidant mutants: Modulation by human APOE in vitro and in vivo”.

Dr. Hayat Onyuksel received funding from the Penny Severns Breast, Cervical and Ovarian Cancer Research Fund for project “Phase I Study of Nanomedicine, Paclitaxel Micelle Targeting VIP Receptor for Therapy of Solid Tumors”.

Dr. Alan Kozikowski received a four year R01 grant from the NIH National Institute of Mental Health for project “Optimizing Lead 5-HT2C Ligands for use in the Treatment of Schizophrenia” with a start date of 7/5/13.

Dr. Brian Murphy and Dr. Scott Franzblau each received three year award from the Department of Defense for his project “Development of Diazaquinomycin Class Antibiotics for the Treatment of Drug-Resistant TB Infections”, with start date of July 15, 2013.

Congratulations to our trainees

MCP student Dimple Modi (Burdette Lab) won a Poster Award in the 2014 UIC Cancer Center Research Forum.

Sharon Eddie (Burdette Lab) has been selected to receive 2014 Lalor Foundation Merit Award from the Society for the Study of Reproduction.

Congratulations to Evelyn Nwabuisi-Heath (Sodhi Lab) and Georgette Heyrman (Burdette Lab) who both received CBC Postdoctoral Award. Their projects are “The impact of RNA editing on major depressive disorder” and “RNAseq of the putative ovarian cancer precursor, oviductal cells, in response to SERMs”, respectively.

Evelyn Nwabuisi-Heath (Sodhi Lab) won first prize in the postdoctoral competition at the Chicago Society for Neuroscience, on April 4th this year. The prize included a nomination for a travel award to present her work at the Society for Neuroscience annual meeting in Washington DC in November.

Congratulations to Michelle Vierra (Sodhi Lab) who received an Undergraduate Travel Award to attend the Society for Neuroscience Annual Meeting in San Diego, in November 2013 and presented a platform presentation.

BPS student Jamie Rayahin (Gemeinhart Lab) has been named 2014 CBC Scholar, making her the 3rd CBC Scholar in the College of Pharmacy, together with Fatima Khaja (Onyuksel lab) and Chaitanya Aggarwal (Federle Lab), who are 2013 and 2012 Scholars, respectively.

Congratulations to BPS student Jamie Rayahin (Gemeinhart Lab) for receiving Honorable Mention Award for her poster presentation during 2013 COM Research Forum.

Congratulations to BPS student Yu Zhang (Gemeinhart Lab) who is a 2013 Recipient of the Provost/Deiss Graduate College Award.

Congratulations to MCP students Dimple Modi, Hitisha Patel, Eoghainin Ó hAinmhire and Shanmugapriya Sothiselvan and BPS student Thao Nguyen Pham who are 2013 Recipients of the Chancellor's Graduate Research Fellowship.

BPS student Lamiaa El-Shennawy (Frasor lab) received an award for the Best Poster Presentation during Fulbright Science and Technology Capstone meeting in Washington DC at the US Department of State.

MCP student Suzanne Quartuccio (Burdette Lab) has been selected to discuss her research during the University of Illinois Board of Trustees (BOT) special Campus Insights presentation. This event showcases the efforts by faculty and students that have a transformative social impact, either locally or globally, and will be held on the evening of Wednesday, January 22rd from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. You can view previous BOT presentations here.